Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 15 Weeks

I can’t believe another week has come and gone already.  A month or so ago, when I was feeling crappy, the time just seemed to drag.. but now I find myself surprised to be only 5 weeks away from the half way point!

No more sucking in the tummy for me!! I try but it just doesn’t go anywhere now! 😉

What Baby Is Up To:

“Your baby is still small enough to fit into the palm of your hand. New this week — light sensitivity and a bad case of the hiccups, a precursor to breathing. You can’t hear them because his/her system is filled with fluid rather than air but don’t be surprised if you feel them later on.
 
Although you’ve probably gained between 5 and 10 pounds, the fetus weighs in at around only 2.5 ounces / 70 grams. It measures nearly 4 inches / 11 centimetres long, crown to rump. Legs are growing longer than the arms now, fingernails are fully formed and all the joints and limbs can move. You may be able to find out the sex of your baby by ultrasound now, since the external genitals may be developed enough that the ultrasound technician can tell you if you’re going to have a boy or a girl. ” From Baby Center
 

How I Am Feeling:

It seems as though most of the bad feelings I was experiencing before have been replaced by headaches this past week.  I have ready that this is common, so I’m not too worried – although it is a pain.  My midwife reassured me that I can try taking some plain Tylenol for them, but I haven’t had the heart to take anything as of yet. Hopefully they pass soon!  The bloating has vanished (yay!!) and replaced with my tiny little bump. No complaints there! 😉  I’ve also started eating more regularly which is great.  I continue to eat my suppers a little earlier than I was used to and my body seems to thank me for it. The tiredness is still there, but at this point I think it’s due to the fact that my sleeps aren’t the greatest.  I seem to sleep soundly until I hit my one wake-up point in the night to go to the bathroom and then I seem to toss the rest of the night while trying to get comfortable.  Here’s hoping I find my comfortable position soon! 😉
 

How My Body Has Changed:

My wee bump has continued to grow while the rest of my body seems to have stayed the same – just how I hoped!!! I tend to wear mostly maternity pants now (aside from one pair of work pants) simply due to the fact that they are more comfortable on my tummy, but I am SO happy that they’re still my normal size (2 and/or XS!). As for tops, most of my tops still fit no problem – and probably will for several more weeks – but I’ve also started to wear a few of my maternity tops too because they’re comfy!!

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained: 2.8lbs so far
 
Food Cravings: Still no real I-need-it-now cravings.  But I did wake up this morning wanting a Green Monster for breakfast! If that’s what I end up craving during this pregnancy, that would be AMAZING! This morning’s mix included 1/2 a banana, 1/2 a green apple, 1.5-2 C baby spinach, 1/3 C plain Greek yogurt and 1/4 C frozen blueberries – awesome.
 
Food Likes/Dislikes:
I am very happy to say that there isn’t really much that seems to turn me off lately.  The ONLY thing that doesn’t sound too good to me is fish.  I can still do tuna sandwiches, but I have NO interest in a filet of salmon (which I used to love).  Fish aside, I’m eating more and more fruits and veggies every day and I’m even starting to cook proper dinners again!
 
Missing: This week it is red meat cooked rare. I’m a girl who won’t eat a steak unless it’s still nice and bloody, so it was pretty hard for me to have to eat some roast beef cooked well done on the weekend. The taste was good, but it’s just not the same. So let’s note here: once this baby comes out I want diner-style dippy eggs and a nice rare steak!! LOL 😛
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: Picked up a little sample set of Johnson & Johnsons baby products thanks to a free coupon they sent me in the mail!!!  We’ve gotten so many samples lately that we’re not going to need any baby bath products for at least the first 6-8 months!  And not exactly a baby product, but I broke down and got a body pillow on Sunday in hopes that I can finally start getting some better sleeps.  I’ve only had it for 2 nights so far, but I’m hoping it will do the trick.
 
Clothes: MAJOR SCORE at Thyme maternity this week!!  Thanks to their Black Friday sale of ‘Save and extra 50% off Clearance items’, I picked up a pair of jeans, grey dress pants for work and a grey cardigan for $45!!  If I had paid regular price for them the bill would have been around the $200 mark!!!
 
Workouts/Activity This Week: I made it out to the farm twice this past week and worked Chelsea from the ground.  I was still pretty crampy (I think due to the belly stretching and growing) so I opted not to get in the saddle.  The cramping has subsided so maybe I will try to ride sometime this week.
 
Midwife Appointments: Last Thursday I went for my monthly checkup at my midwives’ office.  I have been assigned a team of 2 midwives and this time I got the opportunity to meet and get to know the second one.  We had some really great informative conversation which ended with us taking a listen at the little gaffer’s heartbeat – still nice and strong!! 🙂  I also left the appointment with my requisition for my anatomical ultrasound which I can get any time between 18 and 20 weeks.  I am SOOOOO excited for that ultrasound because if baby cooperates, we’ll finally get to find out the gender!!! And yes, there is NO WAY we’re able to wait to find out.  I am keeping my fingers crossed and hoping that we can get an appointment for December 21 so that we will be able to share the news with our families at Christmas.  Unfortunately the clinic we are going to only books 2 weeks in advance though, so I have to hold out a bit longer until we get that confirmed. 
 
Catching Up?

16 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 15 Weeks

  1. I love that you’re already wearing maternity clothes 😛 lol at least that’s what it looks like. I can’t WAIT to have another baby! I love reading about you!

  2. I love your posts! I’m “turning” 15 weeks tomorrow and it’s just awesome to be reading about someone else’s experience at the same stage as I go through mine. This is my first pregnancy and I have slightly different challenges (“advanced maternal age” at 40), but the experience is generally the same. My symptoms were, fortunately, much milder than yours, but I love steak tartare, tuna tartare, salmon tartare, heck almost anything tartare, and I’m longing for that! Not to mention a nice thick filet mignon done blue (more rare than rare 😉 ). My order of the day after giving birth, will most likely be any of the above!

    Thanks again for your awesome posts!

    • Thanks for reading and for the nice comment!!! I’ve defintely been scouring the blog world to find others going through pregnancy right now too. It’s so nice to read along!!

  3. You look great!

    I definitely have headache issues, at 21 weeks now. I asked my doctor and she said I could take 8 tylenol every 24 hours. I haven’t taken more than 4 in a day yet. But believe me, it really helps to take the Tylenol on the onset of a headache! When I was earlier in pregnancy I also didn’t want to take it, and the headaches totally rendered me useless for the whole day. Not worth the pain, and the baby isn’t affected by it.

    • I’m so glad to hear of others who have been taking/taken Tylenol. I know I got the go ahead, but I still wanted to try going without. The headaches are coming every day now though, so I think I’ll finally cave tonight and get myself to a drug store!

  4. you can definitely take regular tylenol. i sure did!! the important thing is take it AS SOON as you feel the headache starting … bc if it goes into a full blown migraine you are pretty much screwed. :/
    Nice haul at Thyme! Those places rock on sale days – otherwise eek!!

    • yeah i’m pretty screwed come about 4pm every day.. i haven’t been to see my horse since last thurs now because all i want to do come 5 is go home and nap!! darn headaches!! definitely getting tylenol tonight.
      and as for Thyme.. omg i would NEVER buy clothes there at reg. pricing. $79 for a pair of jeans that I’m only going to wear for a few months!?!? ummmm no thank you!

      • stick to the plain old tylenol and it’ll be A-okay. we all did it! was a lifesaver for me otherwise i was useless.

  5. Pingback: My Pregnancy: 16 Weeks (4 Months!) | My Pink Thumb

  6. Pingback: My Pregnancy: 17 Weeks | My Pink Thumb

Leave a comment