Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 14 Weeks

This week my wee little bumpity bump bump decided to show!!  As in my stomach is even no longer flat when I’m laying on my back!  It makes me excited as it gives me some reassurance that the little gaffer is still growing strong. 🙂

Doesn’t that look on my face totally scream “just take the picture! I can’t suck it in much longer!!” LOL

What Baby Is Up To:

“Crown to rump, your baby is around 3 and a half inches / 9 centimetres long and weighs one and a half ounces / 43 grams. The body is now growing faster than the head. This week, its parchment-thin skin covers itself with lanugo (ultra-fine, downy hair that usually disappears before birth). Though eyebrows are beginning to grow and the hair on top of the head is sprouting, this hair may change in both texture and colour after birth.About now, the fetus can grasp, squint, frown, and grimace. It may even be able to suck its thumb. Researchers believe these and other movements probably correspond to the development of impulses in the brain.” From Baby Center

How I Am Feeling:

I’ve slowly begun to start feeling a little bit more like myself in the past week.  I’ve been able to start branching out more diet-wise and am one step closer to eating as I normally would have pre-pregnancy.  The nausea is still there most nights, but as I mentioned last week, if I make myself eat supper super early then I seem to be a bit better off…the majority of the time. 😉  I did eat early last night, but then still felt sick all evening..I had a killer headache though so that probably added to the problem.  The bloating seems to have subsided a bit which is great!! I’m even wearing a ‘normal’, as in non-flowy, shirt to work today!  All in all, I can totally see that the crappy symptoms have started to subside pretty much when I was told that they would.  Here’s hoping I’ll be even more crappy-symptom-free this time next week! 😉
 

How My Body Has Changed:

 
I can’t believe I forgot to make note of this biggie in my past few updates, but a major change that I have noticed in my body is nasty pimples!!! Grrr.  The pimples seemed to hit me not long after going off of the pill actually and they just seem to be getting worse.  For a girl who hasn’t really had to deal with pimples much, it’s a hard blow.  My upper chest, upper back and face are just covered and it sucks the big one!  Pimples aside, as I already mentioned, my uterus has made it’s rise this past week!  I have made it part of my morning routine to lay in bed with my hands on my tummy for a bit before I get out of bed.  And last Friday was the first day that I realized a bit of a bump sticking out when I was flat on my back!  It’s still not much of a visible BUMP, but it’s starting!! (I can just see it now.. in month 8-9, I’m probably going to come back and laugh at this post of excitement over my tiny bump and call myself crazy! lol)

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained: Possible 2-3lbs so far, but I’ll know for sure after my 2nd midwife appointment on Thursday.
 
Food Cravings: Still no real I-need-it-now cravings.  There are foods that I’m loving, but I wouldn’t call them cravings.
 
Food Likes/Dislikes:
Still had absolutely NO interest in the chili that we had made.  Aside from that though, I’m starting to be able to eat a lot more in the fruit/veggie department, which is great.  Tuna fish sandwiches have been tasting REALLY good…it’s too bad I have to limit how much I can actually eat (due to the mercury thing).  I ate oats almost every day for breakfast loaded with banana and blueberries.  Oh and another biggie this week was carrot sticks and the new PC Greek Yogurt French Onion Dip. SO Good!!!!
 
Missing: Wasn’t really missing eggs this past week.  I think my Saturday morning Egg McMuffin’s are helping get over that one. 😉
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: None by us, but Chris’ aunt brough us over a nice little gift bag with a super cute onesie and bib among other things. 🙂
 
Clothes: I’ve totally started rocking some maternity wear and oh my is it ever comfy!!! 😉  2 weeks ago, I purchased some maternity skinny jeans from Old Navy along with a pair of maternity yoga pants. They both rock.  In my weekly photos, I’m also sporting one of the Old Navy maternity tops my mom got me for my bday.. also SO comfy!!  I give it another 2 weeks or so before I’m going to have to break down and get some new work pants.
 
Workouts/Activity This Week: I actually RODE this week!!!  Although it was only the one time. 😦  On top of finding myself getting winded very easily, I was starting to cramp while trotting along on Chels.  It got pretty uncomfortable so I only rode maybe 15 minutes.  Then I was still pretty crampy for the next few days after.  Now I’m not sure if it was due to riding, or due to the fact that my uterus was starting to work its’ way up?  I may try again this week.
 
 
Catching Up?
  
9 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 14 Weeks

    • seriously, why did I wait so long to start wearing them? LOL I look forward to going home and throwing on my maternity yoga pants after work. They’re the best!
      and aww *blush* thanks!!

  1. Laura, “morning” sickness is often a result of low blood sugar. Called morning sickness because often the longest time between meals for expectant mothers is overnight while sleeping (6-8hrs). When you wake up your blood sugar levels are drastically low. Eat every 2 hours to keep your blood sugar levels stable throughout the day and this can help. To help with morning nausea, eat right before going to bed, and if you wake up throughout the night grab yourself a snack. This food is going to feed your baby and keep your energy stores strong to grow a strong gaffer, and help prevent the nausea. *hugs*

    • Thanks for the tip!! Thankfully I don’t feel bad in the morning anymore, just in the evening around 7pm until I go to bed. Funny though how for example I still felt sick last night after eating two chicken soft tacos for supper! I definitely notice during the day though… If I don’t eat every 1-2 hrs, I start feeling bad – so my purse is always filled with snacks to eat while at work! 🙂

  2. Your bump is so freakin’ cute!!! I’m glad to hear that you are starting to feel better. You know I haven’t had “like i need it now cravings!” but there are some foods that seem to be more on my mind lately. Oh, and the acne thing — UGGHH! I have been having the same issues. I started breaking out bad right at the beginning of my pregnancy, and should have realized that was a sign.

  3. Pingback: My Pregnancy: 15 Weeks | My Pink Thumb

  4. Pingback: My Pregnancy: 16 Weeks (4 Months!) | My Pink Thumb

  5. Pingback: My Pregnancy: 17 Weeks | My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

