Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 20 Weeks – Half Way There!!!

First of all – Happy New Year!!! I couldn’t be more excited about the things to come in 2013.

With a new year, I now find myself officially at the HALF WAY point of my pregnancy! Wow, where did the last 20 weeks go?!  It honestly feels almost like yesterday that I was peeing on those sticks and here I am now beginning the last half of this journey.

DSC08092

What Baby Is Up To:

“There’s no let-up in your baby’s development. He/she weighs about 300g (10.5oz) now. He/she is more than 16cm (6.3in) long from head to bottom and about 26cm (10in) from head to heel. That’s about the length of a banana. For the first 20 weeks, a baby’s legs are curled up against his/her torso and hard to measure. So during that time, measurements are taken crown to rump, which is from the top of his/her head to his/her bottom. After 20 weeks, your baby is measured from head to toe.

Your baby is swallowing more these days, which is good practice fir his/her digestive system.  He/she is also producing meconium, a black, sticky by-product of digestion. This gooey substance will accumulate in your baby’s bowels, and you’ll see it in that first dirty diaper.” From Baby Center.

How I Am Feeling:

I’ve actually been feeling great this past week!  I honestly have no complaints, which is fantastic! 🙂

How My Body Has Changed:

And yet again, I only really notice when I look at these photos side-to-side! Apparently my wee belly is starting to look not so wee anymore! 😉

19to20a

10to20b

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained: I never made it to the scale, so we’re skipping this until next week!
Food Cravings: Still no cravings! I guess that’s a good thing????
Food Likes/Dislikes: I think the no fish rule is going to remain for the rest of this pregnancy. I ate a lot of pizza in my first trimester and now could care less if I have it.
Baby Items Purchased This Week: We didn’t purchase anything in the past week, but got some AMAZING Christmas gifts for baby from our family. The best being the entire Baby Bullet system from my siblings!! You have NO idea how excited I am about the idea of getting to make my own baby food around about this time next year! 🙂
Clothes: I had hoped to try and score some more deals at boxing day sales, but never made it out.. so no new clothes this past week.
Workouts/Activity This Week: Finally I have begun to be more active again – yay! Workouts this week included shoveling a couple of times, lunging Chelsea and doing some prenatal Pilates! 🙂
Movements: I definitely feel the little gaffer at various times in the day now, and I *think* I’ve even felt a few tiny bumps from the outside a handful of times. The bumps have happened in the morning when I’m still laying in bed.  I joke around saying to Chris that the baby isn’t appreciating me sleeping in while off work as I’m eating breakfast later. It’s as if the bumps are his/her way of telling me to get my butt in gear and get some food in my system! LOL
What The Heck Is It!?: Well, well, well… holy cow! We actually have our big anatomy scan ultrasound appointment TOMORROW MORNING!!! This baby better better cooperate as we’re dying to know if we have a little HE or a little SHE on our hands!!
What do you think we’re having?? 🙂
7 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 20 Weeks – Half Way There!!!

  1. I made my baby food too! It’s super easy!
    If you think the first 20 weeks blew by, these next two will go by even quicker!

Leave a Reply

