Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 12 Weeks

I can’t believe I’m finally at this point!  The point where I finally get to start posting my own weekly pregnancy updates! Over the past almost two years now, I got to follow along some of my favourite bloggers throughout their own pregnancy journeys (Caitlin, Emily, Ashley, Gina to name a few) and their updates were always my favourite posts of the week.  I just loved following them through their pregnancy journeys and am loving even more following them through their first months/year with a new-born.  The fact that it’s not my turn to start making those posts is just pretty darn cool.

Essentially, I’m really looking forward to the fact that I’ll have something to look back on in the years to come and hey, if someone decides to read along through my journey – icing on the cake! 🙂

So here we go!

I actually made it to 12 weeks! (Don’t mind the fact that I look half asleep in this week’s photos.. I literally was out of bed maybe 5 minutes before Chris snapped these in a hurry this morning!)

At the 5-6 week mark, I really never thought this day would come, but here it is. I made it! Only one more week until I’m out of this crazy whirlwind of a first trimester!!

What Baby Is Up To:

“Baby’s face is beginning to look more human, even though he/she is only about 2 inches/5.5cms long from his/her crown to his/her rump and weighs slightly less than half an ounce/ 14 grams. The eyes, which started out on the sides of the head, have moved closer together. The ears are almost in their normal position on the side of the head. The liver is making bile and the kidneys are secreting urine in the bladder.” From Baby Center.
 

How I Am Feeling:

Having been suffering with nausea for the majority of the time so far (more on that in another post), I started to notice some changes in this past week.  Instead of feeling sick most of the day, the nausea seemed to move to the evening/night time making it difficult to get much, if any, supper into me without wanting to throw up.  The bloating has also been pretty crazy.  No joke, I wake up in the morning with a flat stomach and look about 5-6 months pregnant by the end of the day, but it’s no baby belly – it’s bloat!!  I’ve still been incredibly exhausted as well and am anxiously awaiting the day that these symptoms start to fade.  I miss working out and want at least some of my energy back!
 

How My Body Has Changed:

I still don’t see much change in my body so far, aside from almost going up a cup size in my chest! Holy crap that happened fast!!  Here are some side-by-side comparison shots from 4 Weeks (the day the pregnancy was confirmed.)
I still don’t think I have any baby belly yet and owe that little pooch up there to bloat. Seriously, why did I not know of this symptom!?
 
And just for fun, here’s a list of weekly stats (I look forward to see how these change as I progress).
 
Weight Gained: I actually have NO idea as I haven’t weighed myself since the start. I’m always so bloated by the time I get to my parents’ place (where I have access to a scale), so I just might wait until my next midwife appointment.
 
Food Cravings: I haven’t really had any crazy cravings yet, and definitely none in the last week.
 
Food Likes/Dislikes:
Likes – cinnamon raisin bagels w/ cream cheese, apple sauce, milk, pasta, bananas, All Bran, tuna (had what tasted like THE best tuna sandwich on Sunday), cucumber salad (cucumber slices w/ plain yogurt), oatmeal with banana, blueberries and peanut butter
Dislikes – sadly most fruits and vegetables and almost all things healthy that I used to eat.. can’t remember the last time I had a salad as the thought turns my stomach.. oh and hard-boiled eggs. I was liking them but last week I almost lost my entire breakfast while trying to eat one.
 
Missing: I’m surprised that I don’t miss coffee.  My midwife gave me the green light to drink 1 cup a day, but I find I don’t need it, so I’m still trying to do this pregnancy coffee-free.  I AM however missing my classic weekend breakfast of over-easy runny eggs with toast.  I get SO jealous when I watch Chris dip his toast in that eggy yolky goodness.  I think that might be one of my first requests once the baby comes.
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: None by me!  But my parents did pick up a super cute Halloween costume for next year! 😉
 
Workouts This Week: Sadly none.. oh I hope my energy comes back soon!!
 
Clothes I’ve Grown Out of: I’ve been wearing only 2 pairs of my work pants for the past two months because my bloat gets so bad! LOL  I still seem to have lots of room though, so I don’t think I’ll be needing maternity pants any time soon.  All my tops still seem to fit fine as well. If anything, I’ll need to start bra shopping in the near future. :O !!!
 
Times Seeing The Baby: ONE!! I had my first ultrasound this past week and finally got to see the little babe for the FIRST time!!!  He/she was VERY ACTIVE throughout the ultrasound giving my mom and I (unfortunately Chris couldn’t make it) a good view of its entire little body. Two arms – check! Two legs – check! Two eyes – check! Two hands with little fingers – check!  One strong, big beating heard – check!!! 🙂
24 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 12 Weeks

  1. I am SO EXCITED for you! I look forward to following you along on this crazy, amazing journey. I want to know everything, LOL (Okay, not “everything”, but you get the idea.) By the way, you look awesome. Can hardly tell there’s three months’ worth of baby in there! Good luck with the rest of the pregnancy. I hope the nausea wears off. I hear foods with B6 help!

    • 🙂 Thanks!!! Sooo you really want to know all about the. er.. umm.. constipation and bloating!? LMAO! and thank you for the compliment. I guess it really helped being in top shape before getting preggers since looks-wise not working out for the past 2 months hasn’t caused that much damage. 😉

      • Although I haven’t ridden much due to feeling so crappy, I hope to at least get another month or so in the saddle. I promised not to jump with her, so that’s my compromise. 😉 Going forward though, know anyone who’s looking for a horse to ride? lol

  2. I’m so glad you stopped by my blog, and congrats on the pregnancy! I added you to my reader so I can follow you during your pregnancy. It’s fun to hear about others going through a similar thing. Your ultrasound photo almost made me tear up! We took ours at 8 weeks and it barely looks like a baby, but yours is definitely a baby!! So awesome.

    • Aww hey! thanks for the nice comment! Ya, having to wait until almost 12 weeks for the first ultrasound was definitely worth it after seeing what looked like a real baby in there!

  3. LOVE this post from start to finish!!!
    Unbelievable that baby is SO tiny and yet you can see all the things you saw in the ultrasound isn’t it?
    You look fantastic Laura!! Celebrate the bigger tatas lol … nothing wrong with that 😉

  4. Oh Laura! this is so cool. I never blogged through my pregnancy with Logan but it would be cool to look back and have all this info readily available 🙂 You and your growing baby look beautiful 🙂 xo

  5. Pingback: My Pregnancy: 13 Weeks | My Pink Thumb

  6. Pingback: My Pregnancy: 14 Weeks | My Pink Thumb

  7. Pingback: My Pregnancy: 15 Weeks | My Pink Thumb

  8. Pingback: My Pregnancy: 16 Weeks (4 Months!) | My Pink Thumb

  9. Pingback: My Pregnancy: 16 Weeks (4 Months!) | My Pink Thumb

  10. Pingback: My Pregnancy: 17 Weeks | My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

