Baby / DIY

DIY: Baby’s Own Christmas Tree

Last year while pregnant, I went crazy pinning anything and everything ‘baby’ that I seemed to come across with the hopes/plan to make crafty things for Amy.

With Christmas right around the corner, I remembered pinning this…

Screen shot 2013-12-05 at 10.20.05 AM

What a great idea, right? A tree for your little one to decorate!!  The only problem… at 6 months old, Amy wasn’t even close to being able to stand up and decorate her own tree! Geeze the poor girl can’t even crawl yet! So, I decided to try the next best thing.

Meet Amy’s Christmas tree! 🙂

SAM_0570

It was SO quick and easy to make. Best of all – she can decorate and re-decorate as often as she wants!

Step 1: Get a large piece of cardboard and cut out a circle

step1

Step 2: Cut a triangle out of it and then form into a cone – tape the cone in place

step2

Step 3: Measure some fleece around your cone so that it will fit sort of like a pillow case — I didn’t have enough to go all the way around, so I had to do this in a few steps

step4

Step 4: Sew the edges together to form your tree ‘slip-cover’

step3

Step 5: Attach some velcro to keep it in place (I got these at the dollar store)

step5

Step 6: Gather some felt (again, I purchased this at the dollar store)

SAM_0565

Step 7: Cut out different shapes to act as the ornaments

SAM_0568

Step 8: Sit baby down and watch him/her play! 🙂

SAM_0584

SAM_0585

SAM_0573

And because I couldn’t help myself… here’s what she REALLY thought of her tree…. 😉

Leave a Reply

