Baby

Baby Must-Haves: 0-3 Months

I saw several of these lists on some of my favourite blogs when I was pregnant with Amy and really found they helped when it came time to make my registry. SO, it’s only natural that I wanted to create a list of my own.

So here you have it – what I have considered my top 6 baby MUST-HAVES for 0-3 months.

*note: I have not been compensated in any way from these companies..these are simply what worked for us*

1. Fisher-Price My Little Snugabunny Cradle ‘n Swing

9349f7ecc8b911e2978222000aa80103_7

We received this swing as a baby shower gift from one of our good friends.  It was an absolute LIFE-SAVER in Amy’s first 4 weeks.  This swing was her go-to comfy napping place and in those first 4 weeks, she probably slept more in this swing than anywhere else.  She’s not the biggest fan of it these days, but it gets a spot on my list as I honestly don’t know what we would have done without it.

2. The Boppy Pillow

90081ca4c89a11e2873722000a1fcfc8_7

You’re obviously not going to get a photo of me nursing Amy with this pillow, so here’s a shot of her after a nursing session. 😉  I have used the Boppy since day 1 and it has been a great nursing pillow.  The best thing about it is that its usage has changed since Amy has gotten older.  At around the 2 month mark, we started using the pillow to prop her up and nowadays, it’s a great tool for her ‘tummy time’.

3. The Moby Wrap

PicMonkey Collage

Once Amy got used to being in the wrap (around the 3-4 week mark), it became an AMAZING tool in terms of naps! Both Chris and myself used the Moby to comfort Amy and we’d get 2-3 hour naps from her in it on almost a daily basis.  Having her attached to me also helped make it easy to do things around the house – like wash her diapers! 😉

4. The Exercise Ball

Nothing fancy here – just a regular exercise ball. Thanks to the tip from one of my midwives, my big pink exercise ball has proven to be a MAJOR LIFE SAVER!!!!  In Amy’s first 6 weeks or so, we had a hell of a time trying to get her to go to sleep at night.  My midwife suggested trying bouncing her on the ball as some babies really like the bouncing motion. Well, Amy is definitely one of those babies!  It saved a LOT of stress and tears from stress in those early weeks.  To this day, I still use the ball to bounce her to sleep at night.  I can have her out and down for the night in about 5 minutes max 98% of the time.

5. InGenuity Automatic Bouncer

2013-07-01 11.48.13

As much as the ball worked in those early weeks, our bodies were getting tired of physically having to bouncy Amy all the time. SO, I googled to see if there was such a thing as a chair that actually BOUNCED instead of just vibrated like most out there. Low and behold, I came across this chair. We literally went to Babies R Us the next day and bought it.  When she fell asleep in the chair that first night (vs. us having to bounce her for up to an hr — those early weeks were brutal!), we knew it was $ well spent. 🙂  I still use this chair as a daily basis just as a place for Amy to sit when I’m doing stuff around the house and she loves it! Thanks to this chair and the swing, I can honestly say that I have been able to shower while on my own with Amy every single day since we’ve been home from the hospital. 🙂  This chair ‘lives’ outside my bathroom door – hahaha!

6. The Woombie

12986_10100622937690879_1127663050_n

If only we had know about this/gotten this sooner!! I learned about the Woombie via a must-have list I saw online when Amy was just reaching the 2 month mark and I really wish we had this from the get-go.  Chris and I could just never figure out how to swaddle Amy as tightly as the nurses did in the hospital which resulted in her breaking out of her swaddle on a regular basis. Finally we started using the Summer Infant swaddles with the velcro and they worked for a few weeks, but then she started squirming and breaking out of them again.  We would have loved to not bother with swaddling her at all, however her darn little arms kept waking her up.  And then I discovered the Woombie!!  The best part of this swaddle is the fact that it’s super stretchy allowing your baby to MOVE but not too much to startle themselves and wake up.  Since Amy was a summer baby, we also picked one with the mesh in front so that she wouldn’t get overheated.  And the fact that it zips instead of velcro means there’s no way she can squeeze her way out and wake herself up.  I owe this sucker (and my decision to finally move her into her own room at 11wks) for helping our little lady start to sleep through the night!  It would be my #1 gift choice to buy someone for a baby shower.

And there you have it! My top 6 must-haves for 0-3 months.  If you invite me to a baby shower, don’t be surprised if you get something on this list. 😉

2 thoughts on “Baby Must-Haves: 0-3 Months

Leave a Reply

