Food/Recipes

Banana Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake

With an abundance of brown bananas in the house, my mission today was to create a new recipe that wasn’t the usual banana bread or cookie that I usually lean towards.  While brainstorming for my next recipe, I remembered that I owned a bundt pan! I’ve really only ever used my bundt pan twice, so I figured today was as good as any to make a banana bundt cake!  I did a little googling for some general ideas of where I should be going with my recipe and then jotted a few things down and gave it a whirl.  When it was all said and done, I can honestly say that I’m pretty excited about the result and just had to share the recipe with you all right away. Of course, I’ve ‘healthified’ it in any way that I could… well except for the chocolate chip part. 😉

Banana Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake

DSC08870

What You Need:

  • 3 C soft whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 C unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 1/4 C sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 mashed bananas
  • 1 C milk
  • 1 Tbsp vinegar
  • 1/2 C chocolate chips
  • powdered sugar (for dusting)

What You Do:

– First and foremost: combine the milk and vinegar then set aside for at least 5 minutes (this is your very own version of a buttermilk!)

– In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt

DSC08863

– Now in your stand mixer (or you can use a hand held one), mix the apple sauce and sugar until combined

– While the mixer is running, add the eggs one at a time, followed by the vanilla and beat for about a minute

– Add the banana and beat until combined

DSC08865

– Pour in half of the dry mix — once combined, add the milk/vinegar mixture, followed by the remainder of the dry mix. Let the machine run for about 1 more minute.

– Stir in the chocolate chips

DSC08866

– Pour into a well greased bundt pan – I use coconut oil for this

DSC08867

– Bake at 350 degrees for 65-75 minutes (times differ depending on your oven)

– Once your cake passes the toothpick test, cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes before removing it from the pan

DSC08869

– After you remove from the pan, feel free to dust with some powdered sugar — ENJOY!!!! 🙂

PicMonkey Collage

Leave a Reply

