Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 37 Weeks – FULL TERM!

Oh yes, you read that title correctly.  According to all of my apps, as of today, I am considered FULL TERM! Meaning, baby could come pretty much any time between now and her due date at 40 weeks (or later of course). I really am thinking she’ll probably be late….. But we shall see! 🙂

37

What Baby Is Up To:

“Your baby weighs close to 6.5 pounds / 2.8 kilograms and may be about 20 inches / 50 centimetres long from head to toe. Your baby’s head is now cradled in your pelvic cavity — surrounded and protected by your pelvic bones. This position clears some much-needed space for her growing legs and buttocks.Many babies now have a full head of hair, with locks maybe around one inch / 2.5 centimetres long. But don’t be surprised if her hair isn’t the same colour as yours. Dark-haired couples are sometimes taken aback when their children are born with bright red or blond hair, and fair-haired couples likewise can produce babies with dark hair. And then, of course, some babies don’t have any hair at all.

Speaking of hair, most of the downy coat of lanugo that covered your baby from 26 weeks has disappeared, and so has most of the vernix caseosa, the whitish substance that also covers her. Your baby will swallow her lanugo and exterior coating, along with other secretions, and store them in her bowels. These will become your infant’s first bowel movement, a blackish waste called meconium.” From Baby Center

 

How I Am Feeling:

Physically – tired and sore pretty much sums it up.  This extra weight has really been taking its toll on my body lately causing me to be sore all the time. (The good thing about that is the motivation it’s been giving me to drop any extra weight asap after baby is born! I’ve really been having a hard time with this constant heavy feeling!)  The size of my belly combined with constant and strong Braxton Hicks through the night make sleeping next to impossible, so I’m super tired all the time too. Thankfully Friday is my last day of work!
Emotionally – I am excited!  Aside from still needing to finish the nursery (grrr!), I am feeling ready.  All I need is at least 1 week off of work to rest up and then baby girl is free to come whenever her little heart desires. 😉
 

How My Body Is Changing:

Although the scale showed a gain, I don’t see much of a change in my body this past week. So perhaps the weight just went towards some baby fat?  Some have commented on my Facebook that they think I am starting to drop, but I really don’t think so.  The baby is still very much crammed up under my ribs..breathing is still tough at times..and heartburn is still nasty at night.
36to37a
 
36to37b

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained: 1.8 lbs in the past week, making it 32.4 lbs so far— (starting = 122.8 lbs/current = 155.2 lbs
 
Food Cravings: No cravings this past week.
 
Food Likes/Dislikes: Only thing that sounds bad to me is a filet of salmon… everything else is fair game!
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: We didn’t buy anything for baby this week, but need to start crossing off the last few things from the list this coming week for sure!
 
 
Clothes For Me: Let’s just say that I’m really looking forward to Saturday when I no longer need to worry about squeezing into my maternity dress pants for work!  They still fit, but the tightness of all the elastic is starting to get pretty uncomfortable under my belly.
 
Workouts/Activity This Week: I went for a major walk on Saturday!  We walked to our local Zoo for Free Admission day! Between the walk to the zoo, walking around the zoo, and then the walk home, I was on my feet almost 3 hours!
 
Sleep: Sleep? What sleep???? Again, can’t wait for next week when I can just nap whenever I want during the day! Here’s hoping I can bank up on some of this lost sleep before the baby arrives.
 
Rings: I am happy that I made it this far, but I sadly had to take my wedding band and engagement ring off this past week.  Now that the weather has been warming up, I’ve been finding that my fingers and feet are starting to swell a bit.  I was paranoid of my rings getting stuck, so I decided to just tuck them away in their boxes until baby is here. It’s sad and my hand feels naked, but better than having to get them cut off right?
 
Movements: This baby has not changed positions in almost 2 months now! She moves around on a pretty regular schedule always punching and kicking me in the same places. It’s going to be weird when she’s not in there anymore!
 
Appointments: My midwife appointment last Wednesday went well! Nothing major to report really. My blood pressure was still great, urine test great, weight great, baby’s size is great, baby’s heart rate is great and her head is literally resting right on my pelvis (which is why I’ve been experiencing some cramping in the past week). I also did my GBS test, so I have pretty much everything crossed for news of a Negative result tomorrow! 
 
Lamaze Class:  We had our last Lamaze class on Sunday (seriously, how have we already done 4 classes!?) and I can say with 100% certainty that is was money VERY WELL SPENT. If you know anyone in Durham Region looking for classes, I highly recommend Shelley from In Due Time Birth Services she’s amazing!  In our last class we learned all about breastfeeding and I left feeling 100% confident that I’ll be able to stick to my plan to exclusively breastfeed the little one until she starts solids in the fall.  Overall, thanks to Shelley’s class, I actually find myself feeling relaxed and excited to just rock out this labour and delivery thing!
 
Nursery Progress: Although some progress was made, the darn nursery STILL isn’t complete.. *sigh*.. that is the main thing on the list for this weekend now that our classes are done.
4 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 37 Weeks – FULL TERM!

    • I think it was Thursday when I noticed that my finger was looking a little red and I realized that my rings were almost stuck! I forced them off at that point and just figure it’s better to be safe than sorry.
      Not to worry, your last month will fly by! I actually can’t believe that I’m already in my last week.

Leave a Reply

