Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 35 Weeks

I kind of laugh to myself in disbelief every time I see or think about how I am now 35 weeks.  We are SO close to meeting our little one and it’s all sort of surreal at this point.

35

What Baby Is Up To:

“Your baby now weighs about 5.25 pounds/ 2.4 kilograms and measures approximately 18 inches/ 45 centimetres from head to toe. Her elbow, foot or head may protrude from your stomach when she stretches and squirms about. Soon, as the wall of your uterus and your abdomen stretch thinner and let in more light, your baby will begin to develop daily activity cycles.

This week, your little one is now sporting fingernails and has a fully developed pair of kidneys. Her liver can also process some waste products. Basic physical development is now mostly complete.  Her main job over the next few weeks is to put on weight.” From Baby Center

 

How I Am Feeling:

Physically, I’m tired pretty much all the time now, but I know that it’s due to the fact that I don’t sleep well at night anymore and I have no option for a nap in the day since I am still at work. (13 more work days until mat leave!!)  I’m finding my hips hurting a little more these days as well, so even though there’s pain, I try to get up from my desk for little walks as often as I can.  Emotionally, I’m getting more and more excited each day.  After only 2 lamaze classes, I’m already feeling so much more confident about this whole labour thing.
 

How My Body Is Changing:

Well both baby and I are definitely still growing, so I guess that’s a good thing! At this rate, my belly is going to look ridiculously large come week 40!! 😉
34 35
 
34b 35b
 
Here’s the awesome 10 week comparison… I thought I was SOOOO big at 25 weeks!!!
25 35

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained: 2.4 lbs in the past week, making it 28.8 lbs so far (hoping to finish at or under the 35lb gain!) — (starting = 122.8 lbs/current = 151.6 lbs
 
Food Cravings: I didn’t really have any food cravings this past week.
 
Food Likes/Dislikes: Only thing that sounds bad to me is a filet of salmon… everything else is fair game!
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: Again, we refrained from purchasing anything for baby this week because she got spoiled yet again by family and friends!
 
Baby Shower: Baby shower #2 was Saturday at my parents’ house, hosted by my awesome MOM! xo It was SO nice to get to see all of the lovely ladies from my family before the little one decides to join us.  She was VERY spoiled yet again and well, I’ll just say this… I am going to have one of THE BEST DRESSED kids around!!!  I really can’t wait to put all of the amazing gifts to use!
 
Clothes For Me: I officially no longer have any coats that I can close comfortably.  My go-to outerwear these past few days has been my jean jacket (opened) with a scarf.  Please let it at least stay this warm until baby gets here!!!
 
Workouts/Activity This Week: I managed pilates one day this past week, but was really sore in the hip afterwards… and I still say laundry day needs to start counting as a workout. I must go up and down 2 flights of stairs over 10 times on laundry day! I was wiped by the end of the day Sunday!
 
Sleep: I am now at the point where I can’t remember when I last had a good sleep… and I think I’ve accepted the fact now that i probably won’t get a good sleep again for a VERY LONG TIME.  I just can’t get comfortable in bed anymore which definitely sucks.  SO glad I’ll be off work for a couple of weeks before my due date so I can hopefully get some quality nap time in.
 
Movements: The little lady seems to LOOOOVE pushing out her butt at the top of my belly, all while pressing her feet out to my right side.  That seems to be her go-to move all the time. 😉  She’s nice and busy on a regular schedule, so that makes me happy.
 
Appointments: No appointments last week, but tomorrow marks the first of my weekly appointments until baby girl decides to join us! (I can’t believe we’re already at that stage!)
 
Lamaze Class:  Sunday morning was our second Lamaze class and again, I walked out feeling even better about my decision to try and labour/deliver naturally. We learned about, and practiced, many different labour positions (many of which we wouldn’t have thought about).  A lot of them felt great when we practiced, so here’s hoping they work on the big day!!
 
Nursery Progress: The nursery is still in shambles trying to organize now after 2 baby showers.  We are planning a trip to Target this weekend to get some of the last few items – ie. sheets, a change pad cover, a Boppy cover, etc… so hopefully we’ll be ready to show off the finished product soon!!!!  In the meantime, I’ve been working on another little DIY project for her room.. here’s a teaser. 😉
34a783c2a55e11e2a61722000a1f9d6d_7
3 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 35 Weeks

  1. After birthing 3 children (two naturally, one at home), proper breathing is the only saving grace. I didn’t take any Lamaze classes and just winged it and as long as you remember to breathe during your contractions (because you will want to hold your breath) you should be fine. It really does help. In fact, it was the only thing that helped me. I also couldn’t stand having anyone touch me during my contractions either. Don’t beat yourself up though if you find you can’t do it withouth any help for pain. It is pretty intense.
    I don’t even know you and am getting excited for you. I can’t think of anything more exciting than having a baby. *squee*

  2. Oh I’m excited to hear more about your DIY! Your teaser is working!! 🙂 I have to say, that the sleep thing just doesn’t seem to get better (at least for me). I was wide awake all night last night, not even sure why. I wish I could take naps, but they don’t really work either. I guess I’m hoping that once the baby comes we can just sleep at the same time and hopefully that will be enough. All those people that say “sleep while you can now” make me mad…lol — it’s pretty much impossible! I’m getting so excited for you, as it’s getting closer and closer!

Leave a Reply

