Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 34 Weeks

With only 3 more weeks to go until I am officially ‘full term’, I’m starting to feel a little bit like we’re running out of time here!!!

34

What Baby Is Up To:

“Your baby now weighs more than 4.7 pounds / 2.2 kilograms and is 18 inches / over 45 centimetres from top to toe. She’s filling out and getting rounder — she’ll need her fat layers later to regulate her body temperature.If you don’t already talk to your baby, this is a good time to start — at 35 weeks her hearing is fully developed. Don’t feel ridiculous if you’re already chatting in baby talk. Some evidence shows that newborns pay closer attention to high-pitched tones.

If you’ve been nervous about going into premature labour, you’ll be happy to know that 99 per cent of babies born at week 35 can survive outside the womb — and most have no major problems. Although your baby’s central nervous system is still maturing, her lungs are nearly fully developed by now.” From Baby Center

 How I Am Feeling:

Physically, I’m feeling almost as tired as I did in the first trimester, and I am achy most of the time.  As the weight in my belly increases, as does the strain on my little body everywhere else. Thankfully I only have 3.5 more weeks to go at work and then I can hopefully get some good relaxing time in before baby girl arrives.  Mentally/emotionally, I am feeling excited for the little one’s arrival, but I am also glad that we still have a little bit of time because I still feel like I have SO much to do before I am fully ready.
 

How My Body Is Changing:

There aren’t really many major changes anymore.. just the constant slow and steady belly growth.  Here’s hoping she keeps growing nice and slow to keep the stretch marks at bay! I still don’t have any. 🙂
33to34a
33to34b

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained: .2 lbs in the past week, making it 26.4 lbs so far — (starting = 122.8 lbs/current = 149.2 lbs
 
Food Cravings: I wanted oatmeal chocolate cookies last Thursday…so I made some!
 
Food Likes/Dislikes: Only thing that sounds bad to me is a filet of salmon… everything else is fair game!
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: We didn’t purchase anything for baby this week, but that doesn’t mean she wasn’t spoiled!
 
Baby Shower: Saturday was baby shower #1 with Chris’ family.  It was a GREAT afternoon and we were so beyond spoiled. (a big thanks again to my mother-in-law for hosting) I obviously didn’t snap photos at the shower, but Chris did take some shots of the aftermath once we got everything at home and into our living room! 😉
12 
SOOOO MUCH STUFF!!!!!  I spent all of Sunday afternoon trying to organize it all and now the nursery is in shambles!!
This shower also meant that we got to take home our stroller and car seat which was a gift from Chris’ parents! Yay!
photo
After LOVING them at the Toronto Baby Show last fall, I was dead set on getting the Britax B-Agile stroller and the Britax B-Safe car seat. The two are so incredibly easy to work with which makes me very happy. We are so in love with the green colour too! 🙂
 
Clothes For Me: So….. if Mother Nature doesn’t start acting nice VERY SOON, I am going to find myself in a little predicament when it comes to a coat.  I am literally busting out of my spring coat right now and really don’t have anything else left!  There’s NO way that I’m going to be buying a coat to wear for only a week or two. Please let it start warming up out there!!!
 
Workouts/Activity This Week: It was a bad week in this department…SO hard to be motivated these days when I leave the office so incredibly exhausted. 😦
 
Sleep: Sleeping still SUCKS. I never seem to get a good sleep anymore… waking now 3 times a night to pee. Again, I can’t wait until I’m done work so that I can at least nap throughout the days.  These days I could easily nap at my desk in the morning and the afternoon if I were allowed to.
 
Movements: The little lady is still squirming and moving tons. 🙂 Now if only she’d be nice and avoid kicking me in the ribs!…That would be nice. 😉
 
Appointments: Had a midwife appointment last week.  Got the results of my iron test and my levels are perfect (as expected). 🙂  Everything else – ie. baby’s size, heart rate, my blood pressure – was also bang on. Nothing to worry about here!
 
Lamaze Class:  We also had our first of 4 lamaze classes Sunday morning.  I can’t believe how much we learned already in only our first class.  It has already helped a bit to make me more confident about my decision to do this labour/delivery thing au naturel, sans drugs. 🙂  I can already tell that it was $ VERY well spent.
 
Nursery Progress: As I already mentioned, it’s kind of in shambles right now with the aftermath of shower #1.  But with shower #2 coming this weekend, that only means that we are that much closer to finishing and doing the final reveal here on the blog! 🙂
4 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 34 Weeks

Leave a Reply

