Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 30 Weeks

And there you have it… another milestone hit!  Here I sit with only 10 weeks to go!!!  Didn’t I only just find out that I was pregnant? 😉

30

What Baby Is Up To:

“Your baby’s lungs and digestive tract are almost fully developed. While your baby may soon slow up growing in length, (she measures about 15.7 inches/ 40 centimetres from crown to toe by now), she will continue to gain weight until she’s born.

This week your baby continues to open and shut her eyes. She can probably see what’s going on in utero, distinguish light from dark and even track a light source. If you shine a light on your stomach, your baby may move her head to follow the light or even reach out to touch the moving glow. Some researchers think baring your stomach to light stimulates visual development. But don’t expect 20/20 vision when your baby is born — newborns can see a distance of only about 8 to 12 inches/ 20 to 30 centimetres. (Children with normal vision don’t reach 20/20 vision until about age 7 to 9.) To complete the picture, your baby now has eyebrows and eyelashes.

A pint and a half/around a litre of amniotic fluid now surrounds your baby but that volume decreases as she gets bigger and has less room in your uterus. As you and the baby continue to grow, don’t be alarmed if you feel breathless, as if you can’t get enough air; it’s just your uterus pressing against your diaphragm. There is a light at the end of the tunnel though. At about 34 weeks, your baby’s head will move down into your pelvis as the baby gets into the right position for birth. That will make breathing and eating a lot easier.” From Baby Center

How I Am Feeling:

I’m definitely in the feeling tired stage again and am hoping deep down that maybe I’ll get one more big burst of energy before baby comes. 😉  Regardless, I’ve been able to muster up enough energy to continue to plug around in the nursery. My ‘nesting’ instinct is most definitely in full force and getting that nursery ready seems to be my main concern these days.  Three pm seems to be my cut-off times most work days now… as in, come 3:00 I could literally pass out at my desk if I was allowed to.  My stomach begins to feel VERY heavy at around that point and I start moving much slower. I know it’s only going to get worse, so I am trying to get used to it. Only 7 more weeks of work after this week! 😉
 

How My Body Is Changing:

As expected, the belly continues to grow and grow!  Thankfully as of now, I still don’t have any stretch marks and I haven’t had any issues with swelling.  I moisturize the crap out of my belly at least once a day and still have no problem taking my rings off and on.  My belly button on the other hand is another story! 😉  For one, it’s no longer in the middle of my belly! Seriously, it seems to have migrated towards my right side a bit. And yes, I have a wee little outie now too! I don’t think the outie will last too much longer though because overall, it seems to be stretching out more and more every day.
29to30a
29to30b
And just for fun this week, I snapped a shot of my view when I look down now. Gone are the days where I can see my toes, shave my legs with ease or even put on my socks without a struggle!!! LOL
30c

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained: 1.8 lb in the past week, making it 21 lbs so far — (starting = 122.8 lbs/current = 143.8 lbs
 
Food Cravings: Ice cream is still most definitely my weakness. I’ve always loved ice cream, but I usually NEVER touch cold deserts in the winter time!! Weird!
 
Food Likes/Dislikes: Still no change here. I’m eating pretty much anything/everything.
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: We bought some paint, storage bins, and decorations for the nursery, but that’s it!
 
Clothes For Me: With spring on the horizon, I knew I needed to get some more short-sleeved maternity tops that I could wear to the office as I’m not really fitting into much these days.  I went to Thyme Maternity Friday night to see what was there and ended up scoring the top I’m wearing in this week’s photos, plus one more for $19! Gotta love me some deals. ;)
 
Workouts/Activity This Week: I made it out to lunge Chelsea once this week, but aside from that, my workouts came from just staying active.  We were fairly busy this weekend and did a lot of work for the nursery. Once I go up and down the stairs a lot among other things, I’m too tired these days to put in an official workout. Going to try to aim for a little more this week though.
 
Sleep: I guess sleep is going ok.  The time change really hurt me though as I’m still feeling like I need to sleep for an hour or two  after the alarm goes off. I have Friday booked off this week, so hopefully I can catch up a bit on the sleep  then.
 
Movements: Baby girl has definitely gotten bigger these days. Gone are the days where I feel only random quick jabs and/or movements!  Now I feel the full-out rolling around and can really distinguish her little body parts when she presses them out.  For example, last night I could easily tell where her little butt was! haha When pressing on my belly, I had it in the palm of my hand! 😉  It’s also been REALLY nice that she seems to have learned my schedule.  I don’t really feel her much at all in the night when I’m trying to sleep and in the mornings, it has become routine for me to rub my belly and say ‘good morning’ as soon as I wake up.  Once I do that, I’ll get a little jab or two and then she’ll gradually start moving more.  She tends to roll around a lot during the day and then quiet down once I go to bed. It’s great! 🙂
 
Appointments: We had a check-up with our midwife last Thursday night and everything is great!!  My blood pressure is still perfect, baby girl’s heart rate was perfect (avg. 140 bpm – she was moving when we were having the check-up so it would rise as she’d move and then slow again), and I measured at 29cm (perfect for 29 wks!).  Also, just like at my last appointment, my midwife guided my hands to be able to feel her little head! Such a cool feeling. Oh and she’s still head down too. We still have a ways to go, but considering she’s been head down every single time we’ve been checked since our 20 week ultrasound, I am hopeful that she’ll stay put. 🙂  Next appointment is next Thursday the 21st.  I will be getting blood work done then to test my iron levels. ……. Also in case some of you may be wondering (since I haven’t mentioned it on here), with the blessing of our midwife, we decided to opt out of the glucose testing that most women get during pregnancy.  With all the tests I have had done to date, I showed no real risk for gestational diabetes, so we all agreed that the test wasn’t necessary. The midwife has informed us of ‘signs’ to look out for just in case, but neither her or us are worried. 🙂  All of my hard work losing weight and getting into crazy shape pre-pregnancy really helped me out!
 
Nursery Progress: This past weekend, we put a quick coat of paint in the closet to freshen it up and finished installing baseboards.  I also got started on some crafts!  I may show you the closet once we get it to a level of doneness, but the crafts/decorations are staying a secret until the final reveal. 😉
8 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 30 Weeks

  1. You’re doing sooooo well with weight gain! You’re prefect. I gain 64lbs during my first pregnancy….I was ginormaous! Have you been working out at all??? You look great! I can’t wait. Logan was 2 weeks late, I hope that doesn’t happen for you 🙂

    Maternity tops are SOOOO expensive. I get a discount at Thyme we should go shopping! I’m so excited!!!!!

    • 🙂 thank you! i’ve been trying to stay right on track weight-wise..my midwife actually hasn’t ever mentioned my weight and/or weighed me at my appointments, so I guess she’s happy! lol only workouts i’ve done in the past few weeks really have been going up and down the stairs a lot. Need to start doing a little more. … ooo i hope this gal is maybe a week early! it would be nice to get the max amout of time home with her. we shall see!

  2. PS: not to scare you, as I don’t have tons of stretch marks but mine actually appeared AFTER Logan was born, like 3 months later 😦 I have no clue why. Just keep slathering on that lotion!

    • p.s. and my mom never got any stretch marks until the very end w/ my eldest brother. i’m obviously hoping i luck out and don’t get any, but it won’t be the end of the world if i do. 🙂

  3. First of all, I just love your cute pink top! So cute!! 🙂 You are really looking awesome, and glowing! I’m excited to see more of the nursery too.

Leave a Reply

