Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 27 Weeks

Why HELLO third trimester!!!  According to my “What To Expect: Pregnancy” app, I have entered my third trimester and am now officially in the home stretch. Where has time gone?!

27

What Baby Is Up To:

“Baby now weighs nearly 2 pounds/ 875 grams and measures 14.5 inches/ 36.6 centimetres from head to toe. Her eyes open and close, she sleeps and wakes at regular intervals and she may suck a finger or thumb.Sweet dreams, little baby! Some experts believe that babies begin to dream by the 28th week. What do they dream about? No one knows for certain but the brain is active this week as well. The characteristic grooves on the brain’s surface start to appear and more brain tissue develops.
 
Her lungs are still immature. They would be capable of functioning if she were to be born now, but they would need a lot of medical help.Chalk up any tiny rhythmic movement you may be feeling to a case of baby hiccups, which are common this week and throughout the pregnancy. Your baby has them but is breathing in amniotic fluid rather than air. A paper bag can’t cure her hiccups, obviously, but an episode usually lasts only momentarily. The sensation for you may be strange but not unpleasant. ” From Baby Center
 

How I Am Feeling:

I’m still feeling pretty great and have been able to keep up with the craziness that was my life in this past week! (sooo busy!)  My eating habits are pretty normal and my energy level seems to still be at an ok level.  I think I’ve felt some heartburn for the first time in my life a couple of times, but thankfully it didn’t last.  Oh and I forgot to mention last week — last week I started feeling my first Braxton Hicks contractions!  Thankfully they don’t hurt at all. It just feels like my uterus gets SUPER tight for maybe 30 seconds or so and then it goes back to normal.  I seem to get them several times a day now and my midwife said it’s just like my uterus is practicing for the main event. haha!  

How My Body Is Changing:

I really think that I’m starting to grow a little wider vs. growing outwards.  My bump definitely looks wider when I look down now and I was feeling some baby kicks off to the side the other day in a spot I hadn’t felt them before.  It’s odd watching my torso get wider, but it makes sense that I’m starting to grow that way now to give baby girl some more room! She’s just helping to balance it all out so I don’t feel like I’m going to topple forward in a few weeks! 😉
26to27a
26to27b
And for fun, a 7 week comparison shot since this week I wore the same shirt that I wore in week 20!
20to27

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained:  .8 lbs in the past week, making it 16.4 lbs so far — (starting = 122.8 lbs/current = 139.2 lbs
 
Food Cravings: My weakness has definitely been Oreo McFlurries (or Blizzards)… SOO good! But I only let myself have one every 2 weeks. 😉
 
Food Likes/Dislikes: Still no change here. I’m eating pretty much anything/everything.
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: I had some time to kill one evening last week and decided to pop into Value Village. Spent $5.40 and got 4 onesies.  Two in the 0-3 month size since we don’t have any that small yet (just incase)..
1
 
And I also got 2 in the 6-9 month size for her to wear this fall…
2
 
3
Clothes For Me: No new clothes for me this week, but I am in desperate need of another pair of maternity leggings. Got to get to H&M this week.  I think I’ve come to the point where I have just about retired my heels for work.
 
Workouts/Activity This Week: Sadly I didn’t really have an official workout this past week.  BUT I was still fairly active.  I couldn’t even tell you how many times I went up and down our 2 flights of stairs this past weekend in between laundry, tidying up and helping a bit with the painting of the nursery! Tiring I tell you!
 
Sleep: Sleep is hit and miss these days. I tend to toss and turn a LOT in search for a comfy position.  I tried my body pillow again, but that was a no go so I’m still making due with one extra pillow to prop up the belly and provide support between my legs.
 
Movements: Baby girl has some VERY active days now and it’s as if she tires herself out because then she’ll go a day or two when she’s not so active. 😉  She hiccups a lot too which is pretty cute and always makes me giggle. The other morning when I was still in bed, I swear I could feel from the outside her arm or leg slithering around in there!  It was weird and cool at the same time. I don’t think it will be long now until we’re able to feel her little feet, elbows, knees and/or hands when she’s bumping around. Oh! and she also let BOTH her Nana and her grandpa feel her moving around this past weekend.
 
Appointments: Had our last monthly appointment last Wednesday. My blood pressure and such are all still on the perfect scale and baby girl is doing well. My midwife started measuring me at our last appointment (from the top of my uterus to the bottom) and although I measured 20 cm last time (a smidge under – but still good – since they like to essentially average 1cm per week pregnant), I measured bang on at 26 cm this time.  Baby girl is literally growing exactly on track, her heart rate was a nice strong 158 BPM, and her head is still down! Every time I’ve been checked her head has been down! We still have a ways to go, but it would be nice if she just decided to stay put! 😉 Speaking of her head, as my midwife was checking her, she asked me if I wanted to feel her head too!  She then directed my fingers right where she had hers and had me press down… and WOW! I could actually feel the tiny little head! If I had to guess, it probably felt about 3-3.5 inches in diameter. It was pretty darn cool!
 
Nursery Progress: We FINALLY started working on the nursery this past weekend!  The walls are painted (thanks to my mom/Nana) and the curtains + light fixture are now up! There will probably be a post tomorrow on this. 😉
8 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 27 Weeks

  1. I’m so excited to see your nursery when it’s all done! 🙂 Sounds and looks like (fb) you guys have been working hard! Also, how cool that could feel the baby’s head. I always wonder what position my little guy is in. I assume by where he kicks me his head is down low too, but I can’t really tell. And I love the bump shots from 20 vs 27 weeks it’s amazing how much they grow in a just a little bit of time.

    • It’s been more like my mom working hard! 😉 She’s a painting guru!!
      You definitely don’t realize how much/how fast they grow until you see the comparison shots. It’s crazy! And to think, she’s expected to pretty much triple in size between now and her due date! :O

  2. PRACTICE UTERUS PRACTICE!!!

    Also, I forgot to vote last week but I’d love to see photos of the progress of the nursery rather than only at the end. But who am I kidding i’ll settle for either lol

Leave a Reply

