Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 26 Weeks

Another week has come and gone…and I now find myself at the tail end of the second trimester. Holy cow!!

26

What Baby Is Up To:

“Baby is continuing to put on fat. She now weighs about 760g (1lb 10 oz) and measures around 36cm (14in) from head to heel, as long as a cucumber.  The network of nerves in her ears is better developed and more sensitive than before. She can hear both your voice and your partner’s as you chat with each other. 

Your baby is inhaling and exhaling small amounts of amniotic fluid.  These so-called breathing movements are essential for the development of her lungs. It’s also good practice for when she is born and takes that first gulp of air.” From Baby Center

How I am Feeling:

Upon doing some research, if come to believe that the pain I had been feeling from time to time was not my sciatic, but perhaps something in my hips.  I’ve also noticed that the pain is only really there if I overdo things, so I’m trying to cut back just a tad and relax more – that seems to be helping. Aside from the inevitable pregnancy aches and pains, I’m feeling good.  After seeing a number on the scale this week that I have never EVER seen before, I may have had just a mini freak out. I just need to drill into my brain that weight gain right now is GOOD and means that baby girl is GROWING right on track!! This time last year, I was still working on bringing that number on the scale DOWN, so it’s still a little weird constantly see that number climb now! 😉

How My Body Has Changed:

I’m not sure if you can really tell via these photos, but when I look at my self (especially when I look down), my belly has definitely ROUNDED this past week.  And it’s gotten significantly heavier too!

25to26a

25to26b

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained: 2.4 lbs in the past week, making it 15.6 lbs so far — (starting = 122.8 lbs/current = 138.4 lbs)
 
Food Cravings: Chris kept talking about wanting Mr. Burger (our fav. local burger joint) and well, when we go to Mr. Burger we always split a poutine.  I could literally taste that darn poutine the entire day leading up to actually getting to eat it.  The moment I took my first bite, I was in heaven. Craving satisfied. 😉
 
Food Likes/Dislikes: Still no change here. I’m eating pretty much anything/everything.
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: I went to Ikea with my mom Sunday to pick up a few things for the house, including several items for baby girl’s nursery.  I got a rug, a light fixture and some prints to hang on the walls. BUT, I’m not showing you now as you’ll have to wait until I start my nursery decorating posts! (Painting happens this weekend!)
 
Clothes For Me: My mom picked me up a wicked maternity maxi dress and a white t-shirt this past week at Old Navy. Hoping it’s warm enough out for me to rock the dress at my baby shower as it’s so ‘springy’!! 🙂  Oh and I also had to retire my brand new white winter coat. I managed to wear it for 2 weeks, but I can no longer zip it up over the belly!! 😛
 
Workouts/Activity This Week: Workouts this past week included lunging Chelsea once, and shovelling 2-4 times in 20 minute increments. Maybe I should also include doing laundry a workout too! lol It certainly feels like one these days after I’ve gone up and down 2 flights of stairs a million times!
 
Sleep: I had a few nights last weekend where I had awful sleeps, but thankfully the past couple of nights have gone much much better.  Still only actually getting up once in the night to pee, although lately I could probably get up a second time…I force myself to go back to sleep though! lol
 
Movements: Baby girl dances around pretty much on a regular schedule now and it’s pretty great.  At times, she’s even  started poking me back when I press my fingers into my belly!  Oh and she hiccups a LOT now too.  Both Chris and I felt her just hiccuping away almost through an entire movie Saturday night!! 🙂
 
Appointments: Our last ‘monthly’ midwife appointment is tomorrow!!! Then we have a 3wk stretch, and then we start going every 2nd week! (a sign that we’ll soon be in the home stretch!)
5 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 26 Weeks

  1. I don’t know if you guys are going to prenatal classes but if you get on all fours and get your man to interlock his fingers and use his palm (of his hand) to rub/massage your tail bone/lower back area it’s AMAZING!!!! you look so cute and pregnant!!!

    • Yes, we will be doing prenatal classses – but it’s not until the end of March. Thank you for the tip!! I will definitely get him to try this. 🙂
      and awww..thanks!

  2. cucumber baby!!! 🙂 hehe so cute

    don’t worry about the weight you are gaining at a very healthy pace and you look amazing

Leave a Reply

