Food/Recipes

Oatmeal Banana Bread

So yesterday I was craving some sort of baked good.  Sadly, my baking pantry was lacking in the ingredients department though, so I had to improvise a bit.  When deciding what to bake, I took a look around to see what I actually had and calling my name on my counter were 2 and 1/2 small spotted bananas just begging to be used.  Right away, I thought that I could make a banana bread! But.. I had no flour.  I did have rolled oats though! Hmmmm.. 😉

I decided to try a little experiment and it completely satisfied my baked goods craving! The bread turned out more dense than what you’d typically get with a banana bread recipe, but it was oh so very moist inside and had a wonderful, crispy crust.  It was love at first bite in our house!

Oatmeal Banana Bread

1

What You Need:

  • 2 C oat flour (grind 2 C of oats in a food processor)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs (beaten)
  • 1/2 C unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2.5 small bananas; mashed (or 2 large)

What You Do:

– Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees F and line a loaf pan with parchment paper

– In a large bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder and salt

– In a small bowl, beat the 2 eggs and then whisk in the apple sauce, brown sugar, vanilla and mashed banana

– Stir the wet ingredients into the dry only until they are combined

– Pour the batter into the loaf pan

– Bake for 1 hr (or until it passes the toothpick test)

– Cool on a wire rack

Easy as pie! 🙂

2

Best when enjoyed nice and hot out of the oven… especially if you’re pregnant and having a craving. 😉

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Five For Friday: February 1 | Life in Pink

  2. Pingback: My Pregnancy: 25 Weeks | My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

