Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 24 Weeks

Is there seriously only 16 weeks left?!  I remember the earlier days when I thought that reaching 16 weeks in this pregnancy seemed SO FAR away.  Thinking back now and realizing how fast those first 16 weeks went by makes me kind of have a  ‘holy crap!’ moment knowing that our little one really will be here before we know it. (This is a GOOD thing because I couldn’t be more excited to meet her!)

24

What Baby Is Up To:

“Your baby’s growing steadily, gaining about 99g/22oz since last week. She is about 30cm (almost 12in) long, roughly the same length as a cob of corn.  At the moment she’s still pretty slender, but her body is filling out and it will soon start to plump up.  Her brain is growing quickly now, and her taste buds are continuing to develop.  Your baby’s lungs are also developing. She is creating the cells that produce sufactant, as substance that will help her lungs inflate once she arrives in the outside world. Her skin is still thin and translucent, but that will start to change soon.” From Baby Center
 

How I Am Feeling:

Still feeling pretty good!  I woke up early Saturday morning with an excruciating muscle spasm in my calf thanks to my stretching my toes a tad too far (I’ve done it before). Unfortunately due to that, I’ve been limping around the past few days and unable to work out – finally feeling a bit better today!  Apparently muscle spasms/cramps are another of those pregnancy symptoms that the never tell you about, but then again, this has happened to me before pre-pregnancy so I just blame myself for tying to stretch too much! lol  Aside from the sore calf though and the usual sore back (which I try not to complain about), I’m doing well.  I think I’m really in the fun stage of pregnancy now all thanks to my little gal making me giggle and smile all day long with her fun little kicks and bumps.  Each time I feel her, I really have to remind myself that I’m feeling an actual person! It’s still a little tough to get my mind around that fact. It’s very cool.
 

How My Body Is Changing:

This belly just keeps on growing away! As it should be.  It’s almost big enough for me to rest my plate on when eating supper on the couch. 😉
23to24a
23to24b

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained: .6 lbs in the past week, making it 11.4 lbs so far — (starting = 122.8 lbs/current = 134.2 lbs)
 
Food Cravings: No real cravings this past week.
 
Food Likes/Dislikes: Again no change here. I’m eating pretty much anything/everything.
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: Baby girl was lucky this week!!
First off, she got her very first diaper from her Great Grandma Sally. (Yes, you’re seeing that right – we’re going cloth! .. more on that in another post)
1
 
I couldn’t help but give it a test run as soon as I got it home.  This is Allison.  My parents got her for me when I was just 3 years old!!!
 
2
Since our local Zellers is currently in the process of clearing out to make way for TARGET (yay! Target!), I decided to pop in last week to see if I could find any deals for baby.  There wasn’t much, but I did manage to get her a pack of 7 bibs + 7 burp cloths along with 3 pairs of socks for only $12. I was pretty happy with that deal. My mom also went deal hunting and got her a few long-sleeved tunics, a pair of leggings and a head band from Baby Gap that she’ll be able to wear next winter.
3
 
And last but not least, I noticed a large clearance section in the baby department at our local Walmart while doing groceries Saturday.  I found this marked down to $3 and couldn’t leave it behind because Halloween is Chris’ favourite time of year. Turns out, it only cost us $1! 😉
4
 
Clothes For Me: I was just about to write that I didn’t get anything for myself this week, but then quickly reminded myself!  I got 2 completely unplanned purchases — coats!  You see, I’ve recently realized that I’ll be doing a LOT of walking in the next few years and I really don’t have proper coats for doing that.  So at Zellers, I picked up a really nice sporty spring/fall/rain coat for $14. And then, it just so happens that my favourite non-maternity store RICKIS had a 2 day sale on their winter coats last week.  I’ve been in need of a new winter coat anyway because the one I have has been my go-to coat for about 6-7 years now and has seen better days.  I also wanted something warmer to wear on winter walks with the baby next year.  So I scored this for only $60 incl. tax and shipping!! The regular price was $200!!! I love it so much, I’ve been squeezing into it for the past couple of days. BUT.. I don’t think it will be fitting me for much longer this season. 😉
Rickis_general_apparel_7036ht543122_41211_01
 
Workouts/Activity This Week: Not the best workout week with a total of 2 this week.. Darn leg spasm!!
 
Sleep: I seem to be sleeping ok lately with my 1 extra pillow which I use to prop up my tummy a bit and give some support between my legs.  I wake up around 1-2am like clockwork for my middle of the night pee, but thankfully seem to be able to go back to sleep right after. No major complaints in the sleep department this week.
 
Movements: Oh BOY did she ever start bouncing around this past week!  I’m a little peeved that she won’t kick hard enough when Chris is around, but at least I can feel her having a hay day in there!  Good bye are the days when I only feel her when I wake up and go to bed.  During the day while at work, I seem to feel her more often than not now!  And on Thursday, I  actually SAW her movements for the first time!  I first saw a few kicks and bumps and then I actually saw a wave rippling across the side of my tummy as she flipped around. These movements are what keep my smiling throughout my days. 🙂
 
Appointments: No appointment this week.
3 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 24 Weeks

  1. ahhhh the leg cramps!!!! 😦 trust me i remember those – they’d wake me up at night with pregnancy #1 … but thankfully you’re already past the half way point.

    i love the cabbage patch photo lol that is so awesome, great deals this week lady!

  2. I would have loved to cloth diaper but we rent and have coin laundry so I didn’t do it. Good for you!
    I always found pulling my toes up was the only thing that helped when I got leg cramps.

Leave a Reply

