Food/Recipes

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

Last week, this baby had me craving CHOCOLATE in a big big way.  So what did I do?? I put together a recipe for double chocolate cookies that was the bomb!! 😉

This past week, she’s had me craving Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins.  I’m not sure where that one came from, but hey – it’s what she wanted.  Monday night, I was really pressed for time when I got home from the farm after work, but I found myself NEEDING an oatmeal chocolate chip muffin badly.  Muffins are definitely not something you’ll find me buying somewhere simple due to the fact that I know they would be filled with crap. So what did I do?? I tried yet another experiment for some healthier oatmeal chocolate chip muffins.

I’m 2 for 2 so far folks!!! 🙂

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

1

What You Need:

  • 1 1/4 C soft whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 C rolled oats
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 3/4 C plain yogurt
  • 1/4 C milk of choice
  • 1/4 C mini chocolate chips

What You Do:

– Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees and either lightly grease, or line a muffin tin with papers

– In a large bowl, stir together the flour, oats, baking powder, salt and cinnamon until combined – set aside

– In a small bowl, whisk together the egg, vanilla, sugar, yogurt and milk until combined

– Pour the wet ingredients into the bowl with the dry and stir until everything just comes together – if it still seems a bit thick, add another splash or two of milk (you don’t want the batter too runny though)

– Stir in the chocolate chips

– Carefully spoon the batter into the muffin tin

– Bake for 16-18 min

– Yields 1 dozen

2

Best when served still warm from the oven.  They passed my neighbour test this way!! 😉

 

One thought on “Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Yum! My baby has me craving chocolate ALL.THE.TIME! It’s crazy! Those muffins sound soo good. I’ve been a baking spree lately, I may have to make a batch. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

