Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 22 Weeks

22 weeks down, approximately 18 to go.. Holy Cow!! She’ll be here before we know it!! 😀

This week’s photo-shoot took place post workout — yes, I said post workout! I’ve totally been rocking the workouts lately, but more on that later.

22a

What Baby Is Up To:

“The baby now weighs almost one pound / 430 grams, measures nearly 11 inches/ just over 27 centimetres long from crown to heel, and is proportioned like a newborn, albeit a thinner version since her baby fat hasn’t yet developed. Although she’s getting heavier every day, her skin still appears wrinkled because she needs to gain more weight. The lips are distinct and the eyes are formed, though the iris (the coloured part of the eye) still lacks pigment. The pancreas, essential in the production of hormones, is developing steadily.Even this early, the first signs of teeth appear in the form of tooth buds beneath the gum line. Before you know it, your baby will be born, and soon after, her first teeth will come through. ” From Baby Center

 

How I Am Feeling:

Well, I finally believe what they say about the second trimester being the best part of pregnancy.  I’ve been feeling SO much more like myself lately, which is great!  Aside from carrying what feels like a little bowling ball in my tummy, overall my body feels good. My increase in energy has allowed me to workout more than I have throughout this entire pregnancy and due to that, I am feeling even better!  I want to talk more in detail about my prenatal workouts so far, so I’m going to dedicate a post just to that tomorrow.  Sleep, although still broken up (I’m used to it now), has been going much better since I made a support pillow switch – I now use 1 thinner pillow sort of on an angle so it acts as a support under my tummy, but also supports between my legs. And eating is now pretty much normal. 🙂
 

How My Body Has Changed:

There doesn’t seem to be a huge physical change in size of my belly this past week, but if anything, it’s starting to feel heavier and harder.  (p.s. I’m totally still rocking my size XS workout shorts this week! boo ya!) I thought of a good way to describe the feeling to Chris this week… You know when you really overeat at dinner time?  How full and hard your tummy feels when you’ve realized you just ate WAAAAY too much?  Well, that’s how my tummy feels pretty much all the time.  I’m definitely going through a little learning curve to get used to having this feeling all the time, but definitely not complaining. It’s only going to get bigger! hehe
21to22
21to22b

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained: .6lbs in the past week, making it 9.6lbs so far — (starting = 122.8lbs/current = 132.4lbs)
 
Food Cravings: This past week, I’ve been wanting chocolate a lot.. I been trying my hardest not to give in, but last night I couldn’t stand it anymore.  As a compromise, I challenged myself to create a new chocolate cookie recipe! Thankfully it was a success! (I’ll post the recipe this week)
 
Food Likes/Dislikes: I’ve eaten more fish and it went down great!  Now, I’m not going to be cooking it for myself any time soon, but when it’s put in front of me, I’m not disgusted anymore. 😉  Oh, and I just can’t get enough spinach salad with my homemade red wine vinaigrette on it (diijon mustard, red wine vinegar, olive oil). 
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: I didn’t purchase anything this week.. BUT.. my parents got us something pretty epic!!! They bought us a new La-Z-Boy!! I forgot to snap a photo, but it’s pretty awesome.. SOOO comfy and totally ready for me to rock/feed baby in.  So now we have 1 major must-have item to knock off the list. 🙂 THANK YOU AGAIN MOM & DAD!! xo  We were also gifted an incredible Avent baby girl bottle set from my amazing friend Angie from In My 30s And Its Time. Totally set for bottles now if we end up needing them! Angie rocks! 🙂
 
Clothes: No new clothes needed this week. I’m pretty set for a little while now.
 
Workouts/Activity This Week: I knocked it out of the park this past week! I did prenatal pilates two days, biked for 20 min one day, lunged Chelsea one day and in the gorgeous weather we had this weekend, went out for a 30min power walk! 🙂 5 workouts!!!
 
Movements: I’m starting to feel her bump and roll around more and more now.  Most of the time it’s still while in bed or lounging on the couch, but the past few days, I’m pretty sure I’ve started to feel her while sitting at work.  I have felt more bumps from the outside while in bed, but Chris still hasn’t been able to feel anything just yet.  Grow baby, grow!!
 
Appointments: Our monthly midwife appointment is tomorrow! I’m always excited for those, as we get to hear our little girl’s heart beat!  This will be our first appointment since having the anatomy scan, so I’m hoping she’ll talk to us more about that as well.
9 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 22 Weeks

      • awe!! 🙂 you’re too sweet.
        I knew you would use them and am really happy for you!
        *hugs*

        also – a la-z-boy? that is amazing!!!!! you will be so comfy holy moly!

      • oh yes – a legit la-z-boy!! I wanted a comfy chair for the living room as I know I’ll be spending the majority of my time feeding/rocking down there vs. in the nursery. I’m so not a fan of the usual gliders and wanted something that fit in with our decor. VERY lucky to have gotten exactly what I wanted – it’s sooooo darn comfy!! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Double Chocolate Cookies | My Pink Thumb

  2. Great job on your workouts!! And how exciting that your parent’s bought you guys a chair. I’ve been freaking out about buying stuff for the baby room as it’s sooo expensive. I can’t wait to see how your nursery comes out for your lil gal!

    • omg trust me! we’ve been freaking too at how expensive everything is, so i’m SO glad that we now at least have a chair now. I’ve been toying with the idea of showing my nursery inspiration, but.. I think I’m going to keep it all under wraps until it’s done – or at least close to being done! Regardless, we still have a TON of clearing out before we can even think about starting! lol

Leave a Reply

