Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 21 Weeks

What a week this past week has been!  I officially past the half way point and found out that we are having a GIRL at an ultrasound I will never forget!!  I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but Chris and I had names picked out quite some time ago.  I’ve been talking to our little one by her name since last Wednesday (when only Chris and myself are around) and it’s helped me feel an even stronger/better connection with her!!  Unfortunately for you, we’re keeping her name a secret to everyone else until she is born. 😉

1

What Baby Is Up To:

“Your baby now weighs about 360g (almost 13oz) and is approximately 27cm (10.5 in) from head to heel.  That’s about the length of a carrot. You may soon feel like she is practising martial arts as initial fluttering movements turn into fully fledged kicks and jabs.  You may also discover a pattern to your baby’s activity as you get to know her better.  In other developments, her eyebrows and eyelids are fully developed and her fingernails now cover her fingertips. Watch what you say from now on too because she will probably hear you. You can communicate by talking, singing or why not try reading aloud? Some studies suggest a newborn will suck more vigorously when you feed if you read from a book frequently heard in utero.” From Baby Center

How I Am Feeling:

Thanks to the fantastic news, I’ve been feeling great!!  If I had to say one negative thing, it would be that I’m starting to have troubles sleeping again.  I was using a body pillow for the past couple of months, but lately as my belly grows. I haven’t been as comfortable  with it.  The past 2 nights, I have been trying different pillows in different places and I think that last night I may have found what works for now – I’ll know for sure after I try it again tonight. 😉  Aside from trouble sleeping, my energy level has crept back up which has allowed me to be more active again, thus making me a happy camper!

How My Body Is Changing:

This girl is just growing like a weed! I swear, this week it seemed like my belly was getting bigger by the day! I find it pretty amusing to see that it sticks out farther than my boobs now. lol (ugh.. now that the holidays are over, we’re back to snapping not-so-great shots at night when it’s dark again.. can’t wait for the time change!)

20to21a

20to21b

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained: 9lbs so far — 2.6lbs in the last 2 weeks (starting = 122.8lbs/current = 131.8lbs)
 
Food Cravings: After eating supper next to a Dairy Queen on the weekend, I found myself REALLY wanting a Blizzard or some sort of ice cream. I held back and didn’t fulfill that craving… until last night when my AWESOME neighbours bought me an Oreo Blizzard! OMG… it tasted incredible.
 
Food Likes/Dislikes: Guess what?! I actually ordered, and devoured fish tacos on Saturday night! We were at our new favourite Mexican restaurant and the Mahi-Mahi tacos actually sounded good. I ate every last bite! 🙂
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: I went to Value Village this past weekend and couldn’t resist looking at the baby girl section. I walked away with 3 adorable outfits for a total of $4!!!
0d01a5b4577a11e288ea22000a1f9318_7
 
Clothes: I really needed some black dress pants for work and a pair of ratty/comfy pants to wear to the farm.  First up I went to Thyme Maternity and walked out with a pair of black pants + a hot pink t-shirt for about $36! Then, I decided to see if I could find anything pant-wise that I could wear to the farm at Value Village. They actually had a TINY maternity section there and I managed to score a pair of Thyme Maternity jeans for only $5.99!! They’re 1 size too big, but since I only got them to wear to the farm, I don’t care.  Now I should be pretty much set clothes-wise for at least another month or so before I’ll have to get a few more tops.
 
Workouts/Activity This Week: My goal is to try and do at least 3 workouts a week from now until I deliver. This past week, I managed 3. 🙂  I made it out to lunge Chelsea twice and I did my prenatal pilates dvd once. Hoping for a little more this coming week!
 
Movements: I have been feeling our little girl doing her exercises on a daily basis now and it always puts a smile on my face.  Unfortunately, I learned at our ultrasound that I have an anterior placenta – meaning my placenta is currently resting on the front of my belly.  It’s not a bad thing by any means, but due the placement, I probably won’t feel any major kicks for quite some time still. Regardless, I am still getting to feel flutters and even a few bumps towards the bottom of my belly and on the sides when I lounge on the couch or lay down in bed at night and when I wake up in the morning (I swear she kicked me in the bladder the other morning making me jump out of bed to pee! lol).  The bigger pokes and kicks that we can feel from the outside will come!
 
What The Heck Is It!?: We obviously found out last week that we’re having a GIRL! ;) It’s SO nice being able to call her a SHE now instead of an IT!
 
Appointments: No appointments this week, but we do have our next monthly appointment with our midwives next week – already!
8 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 21 Weeks

  1. as my usual comment goes you look amazing! what a cuuuuute bump!
    she’s a carrot now Laura! A CARROT!! Holy moly! lol

  2. YAY! We’ve been calling our lil babe by his name too. It’s so nice to finally be able to refer to them by their name instead of calling it “IT” ya know?! I love that you were able to purchase some girly clothes for your baby. I have restrained from buying stuff just yet.. but it’s getting harder and harder! 🙂

    • I tried to keep our original onesie purchase the only clothes purchase for a while, but when I was in Value Village seeing $.99 price tags, I couldn’t resist!! 😉

Leave a Reply

