Food/Recipes

Pina Colada Green Monster

With all the excitement surrounding the baby news, I figured I better throw in some sort of non-baby-related post this week. 😉

Since being able to actually eat a healthy, well-balanced diet again, I’ve totally gotten back on the green monster trend (ie. spinach smoothie trend).  Over the holiday period, I was probably having one almost every single day and it makes me feel SOOOO great to start my mornings with that punch of nutrients.  For some crazy reason, fresh pineapples have been SO cheap around here on a weekly basis, so I decided to try something different for the green monster one day and toss some pineapple in it instead of berries.  Well, I can say without a doubt, the end result tasted  much like a delicious pina colada!!! Meaning – AMAZING!  The combination is SO good, that I just had to share it with all of you. 🙂

Pina Colada Green Monster

7

*Makes 2 nice big adult smoothies (or 3-4 kid-sized ones)*

What You Need:

  • 1 banana
  • 3-4 C fresh baby spinach
  • 3/4-1 C fresh pineapple (would be good if frozen too)
  • 1/2 C vanilla yogurt of choice
  • 1/4 C unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 2 scoops plain or vanilla protein powder (if you want an extra boost)
  • water as needed

What You Do:

– Start by blending the banana and spinach with some water until completely blended together (as you’re going, just add water if needed)

2

– Add the pineapple and yogurt then give the blender another good whirl until the pineapple is completely broken down

4

– Add the coconut and give it another quick whirl

5

– Finish up by adding protein powder if you like and blend until combined (I’ve been on protein withdrawal since becoming pregnant as I’m not allowed most brands due to the artificial colours and sweeteners.. We lucked out and scored this all-natural container for a great price a couple of weeks ago! Yahoo!!!)

6

– Serve! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Pina Colada Green Monster

  1. Mmmm….this sounds good! I don’t think I have ever thought to add shredded coconut to a smoothie. I’ve done coconut milk but not actual coconut. Nice!! 🙂 All you need is a straw and a little umbrella and you can pretend you are sitting on some tropical beach somewhere!

Leave a Reply

