Food/Recipes

Baked French Toast Casserole

Well, winter has officially arrived in our neck of the woods.. *sigh*…  I awoke this morning to about 10-15 cm of snow outside.  If I had been staying home today, I wouldn’t be complaining so much, but alas, I had to drive into the office this morning = not happy.  I don’t mind winter *that* much.  And really I don’t mind snow or even having to shovel the snow.  What I DO mind is driving in crappy conditions..especially now that I have a little one on board and feel a little extra pressure to be as safe as possible. I’m now completely responsible for someone else’s life as well! Eek!  The roads in were pretty bad, but thankfully the traffic was light due to many people being off still.  And thankfully I finally bought some new winter tires 2 weeks ago. Those tires definitely made me feel safer this morning!

Anyway, no more snow talk!  Now we talk about some yummy food! 😉

While scouring Pinterest in the weeks leading up to Christmas, I came across several different pins/versions of a baked french toast casserole.  Upon first glance, my taste buds had woken up and I simply pinned one of the versions without looking at the recipe.  It was my plan to make the casserole for Christmas breakfast.  I actually went to look at the recipe last week and was shocked to see that it was loaded with heavy cream, butter and LOTS of sugar.  Now, I know some people seem to think I should be “eating for two” now (although I should only really be eating an extra 300 cal/day), but I’m not going to waste my calories on something SO full of fat and sugar.  I still wanted a french toast casserole with minimal preparation effort though for Christmas morning, so I decided to try my own healthier version.  Both Chris and I thought it was pretty tasty, so I thought I’d share it with you today. Maybe you’ll want to give it a shot for your New Years breakfast? 😉

Baked French Toast Casserole

DSC08079

What You Need:

  • stale bread of choice (preferably from an unsliced loaf) – I used a whole wheat loaf
  • 5 eggs
  • 3/4 C milk
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

What You Do:

*For best results, prepare your casserole the night before*

– Tear up the bread into chunks and place into a small casserole – set aside

DSC08058

– In a medium sized bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, vanilla, brown sugar and cinnamon

PicMonkey Collage

– Pour the mixture over the bread, pack it down, cover and refrigerate overnight.

PicMonkey Collage2

– The next morning, preheat the oven to 350 degrees and pop in your casserole for about 40 minutes until the top starts to crisp up.

DSC08072

– Serve, and enjoy with your favourite toppings!

*Serves 4

One thought on “Baked French Toast Casserole

Leave a Reply

