Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 17 Weeks

Looking back, it’s been a rough week, with another rough day this coming Friday for Katie’s funeral, BUT I know she’d want me to keep going with these weekly updates. 

This week of my pregnancy has to have been the fastest one yet. It feels like I only posted my 16 week update yesterday!

14

Happily sporting my uber-comfortable maternity dress pants for this week’s photo. 😉

What Baby Is Up To:

Things are really moving now. This week, your baby’s eyes look forward instead of to the sides, his/her ears are almost in their final place, and the rubbery cartilage that will become his/her skeleton is about to start hardening into bone.
 
Your baby is now nearly 5.5 inches/ 13 centimetres long from crown to rump and weighs approximately 5 ounces/ 140 grams. His/her skeleton is mostly rubbery cartilage, which will harden later. A protective substance called myelin slowly begins to wrap around the spinal cord.  From Baby Center
 

How I Am Feeling:

Unfortunately the headaches continued on last week pretty much on a daily basis, although the stress of everything that happened wasn’t too much help.  I did my best to stay as relaxed as possible though for the baby’s sake.  The nausea is definitely 100% gone now – phew! And I think my energy levels are slowly starting to rise again. I did order a prenatal workout DVD and hope to sneak in at least 2 workouts in the coming weeks.. in between our travels back to Ottawa to be with my brother.
 

How My Body Has Changed:

After the big bump growth over the past couple of weeks, I think it kind of took a pause this week as I don’t really see too much of a difference.  All of my apps tell me though that the baby should be doubling in size in the coming weeks though so I fully expect to be bigger by Christmas.
16to17a
16to17b

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained: Completely forgot to weigh myself yesterday so we’re just going to stick to the same as last week – 3.6lbs so far (starting = 122.8lbs / current = 126.4) – I’m sure it will just be a higher increase next week now. 😉
 
Food Cravings: Still waking up really wanting green monsters in the morning. They have never been so satisfying!
 
Food Likes/Dislikes: Only really have 0 interest in fish. Everything else seems to be fair game now.
 
Missing: Still wish I could have a nice juicy steak! ;)
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: We definitely didn’t buy anything this week.. but my mother-in-law picked up some super cute sleepers!
 
Clothes: I definitely need to get some more work clothes soon.  My non-maternity pants are TIGHT today!! 😛 and I’m really squeezing into my tops.  Hoping I can make it this week and then next.. then hopefully I can score some boxing day deals before going back to work in the new year. (OMG how is there only one week and a bit left until Christmas!?)
 
Workouts/Activity This Week: I REALLY wanted to start a workout routine again last week, but due to circumstances that just didn’t happen.  We were in Ottawa with the family from Thursday to Saturday and by the time we got home, I was completely burnt out. Need to get at least one or two done this week!
 
What The Heck Is It!?:Just over 3 weeks to go until we hopefully get to find out what the little gaffer is!!
 
Catching Up?

16 Weeks

4 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 17 Weeks

  1. Looking cute as ever! You just wait, the belly will just get bigger and bigger every week. I’m still in shock when I look at mine. And then I realize I’m only halfway!!

Leave a Reply

