Baby / Family / Life

My Pregnancy: 16 Weeks (4 Months!)

4 months down, 5 more to go!

Baby is GROWING like a weed now!!! 🙂

12

I think it’s safe to say that I really do look pregnant now!

What Baby Is Up To:

“Your baby is now about the size of an avocado (about 5 inches / 11.6 centimetres long from crown to rump and weighing approximately 4 ounces / 100 grams). In the next three weeks he/she’ll go through a tremendous growth spurt, doubling his/her weight and adding inches to his/her length.In or out of the womb, babies are playful creatures. Yours may already have discovered his/her first toy — the umbilical cord — which he/she’ll enjoy pulling and grabbing. Sometimes he/she may even clutch it so tight that less oxygen gets through, but don’t worry — he/she doesn’t hold onto it long enough to harm himself/herself. The circulatory system and urinary tract are in full working order, and he/she’s inhaling and exhaling amniotic fluid through his/her lungs.

Sometimes, when you move suddenly, you may a feel a slight pain in your sides. Ligaments on each side of your uterus and pelvic walls are stretching as your baby grows. It’s normal to feel some pain, but if it continues for a few days or escalates, talk to your midwife. ” From Baby Center

How I am Feeling:

 
Well I definitely do feel that slight pain in my sides if I get up too quickly, or if I’m sitting the wrong way.  Thankfully, the pain seems to go away fairly quick and it never really lasts. 🙂  Overall, I’d have to say that I’ve been feeling MUCH better over the last week.  The only thing is HEADACHES still.  I literally had a headache EVERY SINGLE DAY over the past week.  Yes, I got Tylenol, but sadly it does NOTHING.  I didn’t expect it to help either because usually the only thing that helps with my headaches is Extra Strength Excedrin Migraine meds that I get from the states!  Due to the headaches, my routine last week was come home from work – lay on couch – sleep.  Headaches aside though, I’ve been feeling better. My eating habits are almost back to normal and I think it’s safe to say that the nausea has finally subsided – yay! 🙂 Now I just need my energy to come back so that I can start doing some workouts again!
 

How My Body Has Changed:

 
I can honestly say that I now truly belive that there is a baby inside of me now. 😉  I haven’t felt anything yet, but I just have to look at myself now to believe it all.  Actually, I didn’t really think that my belly had grown much in the past week, but once I compared the photos, I quickly realized I was wrong.  It’s funny how I went so long without much change at all and then suddenly in the past couple of weeks – P O P!
15to16a
15to16b
And for the most noticeable one… I’m not going to lie, I’m loving that it’s all boobs and belly so far! Here’s hoping I keep growing the same way! 😉
4to16

Weekly Stats:

Weight Gained: 3.6lbs so far (starting = 122.8lbs / current = 126.4)
 
Food Cravings: Green Monsters FOR SURE! How awesome is that!? I’ve been craving one of THE HEALTHIEST things for me!! LOL I’ve had one for breakfast almost every day in the past week and still going strong.
 
Food Likes/Dislikes: As I already mentioned, my food habits are pretty much almost back to normal now – yay!! The only thing that completely turns me off is fish (although tuna from a can still sounds ok).  The thought of eating a filet of any type of fish though just completely turns me off.
 
Missing: Nothing major this week.  I’ve been cooking again and have just been making things that I know I’ll love to keep my mind off of things that I can’t have. 😉
 
Baby Items Purchased This Week: I don’t think we bought anything baby-related this past week.  We just did our Christmas shopping so we might not be getting anything else baby until the New Year.
 
Clothes: At the rate that my belly seems to be growing now, I’ll be LUCKY if I get 2 more weeks out of my 1 pair of non-maternity work pants that still fit. Meaning, I REALLY hope that Thyme has another sale soon because I just can’t bring myself to spend $60 reg. price on a pair of pants I’ll only wear for a few months.  The pair I did get from Thyme last week though – OMG .. SO SO comfy!
 
Workouts/Activity This Week: Not too much of anything this past week sadly… the darn headaches made me a complete write off. I really hope they decide to go away soon because I found what sounds like a wicked Prenatal Workout DVD on Amazon that I want to get!
 
What The Heck Is It!?: We were REALLY hoping that we’d be able to go for an 18wk ultrasound for the anatomical scan and to find out the gender on December 21… BUT sadly the place where we are going (who apparently offers some 3D US for FREE during the scan) won’t do the appointment until I am 20 weeks.  That being said, we now have to wait until January 2nd to find out if the little gaffer is a HE or a SHE!!!  We won’t get to find out in time for Christmas, but at least we won’t have to wait much longer after that – 4 weeks today!
 
Catching Up?
13 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 16 Weeks (4 Months!)

  1. definitely check out Gap/Old Navy – they have a lot of great sales. The gap skinny jeans I got are amazing and comfortable and did not break the bank (considering i wear them almost every day they would have been worth it if they had). Old Navy’s jeans tend to run a bit big (i got my regular size and should have sized down. Though I might be singing a different tune in about two months – i’m 24 weeks now) But my gap jeans are pure love 🙂 🙂

    • thanks for the tip! I do have 1 pair of Old Navy skinnies (I’m actually wearing them in my weekly photo this week) which are pretty comfy. They do tend to fall down on me though (and I got the smallest size!! lol), but I’m guessing it will be different as I grow. Sadly Gap around here doesn’t carry anything maternity, but I do have another pair of jeans from Thyme that are pretty awesome too. Now I just need dressy pants for work.

    • Thankfully Christmas falls in between the 4 week wait now so hopefully it will fly by!

      and umm…is it bad that *I* want to eat an avocado?!?! LOL mmm they’re so yummy!

  2. The waiting is soooo hard, I hear ya! I think it’s funny that some places will do the ultrasound way early, and my hosipital won’t until 20 weeks. I had to beg and plead to have them do it at 19.5 weeks so my husband will be there before he deploys. i guess it will just give you something exciting to look forward too!

    Your lil POP of bump is super cute. You can def see a dif from last week to this week. So fun!!!

    • At least I’m used to waiting at this point!! 😉 First there’s the 2WW before testing.. then the wait for the 1st apt.. then the wat for the 1st ultrasound.. LOL I’m glad you’re able to get yours before your hubby deploys! The later apt actually works out well for us too since my hubby will be home from work making it a guarantee that he’ll get to come.

  3. what about dresses? a few dresses should carry you the entire pregnancy instead of lots of pants. not sure how fancy your office is though

    • my work isn’t exactly a ‘dressy’ place.. and i’m also ALWAYS freezing there, so i may wait until spring time (ie. the last month or two) to get some dresses to wear. i do want to get a cute tunic or two though as i already have some maternity leggings 😉

  4. Pingback: My Pregnancy: 17 Weeks | My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

