Food/Recipes

Smokey Pulled-Pork Quesedillas

I know, I know… where’s the Wordless Wednesday photos?  Well dear blog friends, I didn’t realize how long it would take me to sift through and edit 200+ photos from a very short stay at Disney World.  Therefore, you have to wait until next week for the photos in all their glory. 😉 You won’t really care about the photos any more though when you check out my latest quick week-night recipe!!

Fall has arrived around here and along with it, my urge to cook in the crock pot again has begun to creep up.  I really enjoyed using the crock pot on a weekly basis last fall/winter and hope to get back on that trend again.  As much as I love the recipes I came up with last year, I knew that I wanted to try something new right off the bat.  You see, one Sunday this summer after seeing a matinée movie with Chris, we went to Lonestar for lunch.  That day, I had one of THE BEST quesedillas I have ever eaten – smoked pork.  I had never thought of making a quesedilla out of pork before and knew right away that it was something that I was going to have to re-create at home.  It just so happened that pork tenderloins were on sale a few weeks ago, so my idea to make my own smoked pork quesedillas was born.

Since I only have so much time after work to make supper, I decided to take full advantage of the crock pot and let it work all day long to cook the meat leaving only a little bit of assembly upon arriving home.

What You Need:

  • 1 pork tenderloin
  • 1 medium-large onion; chopped
  • 1/3C of your favourite BBQ sauce
  • 1/4C water
  • liquid smoke
  • tortillas
  • cheese of choice
  • green onion

What You Do:

– Get out your crock pot and gather your pork, onion, sauce and liquid smoke

– In the crock pot, first lay out the chopped onion, followed by the meat, about 1/3C BBQ sauce, about 1/4C water and a few drops of liquid smoke

– Set the crock pot to LOW and cook for 8 hours while you’re at work!

– When you get home, you should have a nicely cooked piece of pork.  With a couple of forks, pull the meat apart and give it a good stir so that it’s completely covered in sauce.

– Now you can assemble your quesedilla!

– First, preheat the oven to 400 degrees – we’re going to bake these suckers.

– Start out with a tiny bit of cheese, followed by some pulled pork, green onions and just a little more cheese to hold everything together. Carefully fold the tortillas in half and gently place them on a tin foil covered cookie sheet (makes for easy clean-up!).

– Bake for about 8 minutes per side, or until the edges become golden brown.

– Let cool for a couple of minutes then slice into wedges and serve with your favourite sides and dipping sauces!

– They were fantastic with some simple homemade guacamole – just mash an avocado with some green onion, lime juice, salt and pepper!

I don’t think Chris and I even spoke one word while we were shoving these into our mouths!

So I take that as a good sign! 😉

P.S. My Pink Thumbs first GIVEAWAY starts tomorrow!!!

Leave a Reply

