Food/Recipes

Breakfasts With Staying Power

I want to talk to you today about breakfasts – my favourite meal of the day! 😉 

After Chris got me hooked on protein powder earlier this year, I began to incorporate it into my breakfasts during the week to help me get over that early morning slump without feeling that my stomach was going to eat itself.  You see, I have always been one to eat fantastic breakfasts (I can’t function without it), but I would still find myself absolutely STARVing and grasping for my morning snack, sometimes before 10am!  That was all find and dandy, because I’d have my snack and then feel better. But, come 11:30, I’d then find my stomach growling like a mad person until it was time for lunch.  One day, I decided that I would try a small protein shake along with my breakfast to see if it made any sort of difference.  And you know what? It totally did!

I now have protein powder in some form every morning with my breakfast before going to work and don’t find myself reaching for my morning snack until almost 11!

I can’t do vanilla protein powders, so my favourite go-to one is the Extreme Milk Chocolate from Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard, which we but from the amazing people at our local GNC store.

Check out the nutrition stats on this stuff!

For the past couple of months, I’ve essentially been living off of two main go-to breakfasts during the week that include this protein powder and I just wanted to share them with you!

First up, is a breakfast cookie – thanks to the Fitnessita. I remember when I first made a breakfast cookie, Chris kind of turned his nose up a bit at the very sight of it, but then he tried the thing! 😉 We both fell completely in love with this breakfast and make it at least 2 days during the week.

Our recipe looks like this (Chris will add a little more of each ingredient to make his larger)

  • 1/3 C oats
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/2 banana mashed
  • 3/4 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • small handful crushed All Bran Flakes (if we have some)
  • a few splashes of milk

Literally ALL you do is mix all the ingredients in a bowl the night before you want to eat it.  Flatten it all down and put it in the fridge in the morning.  The next morning, your breakfast is ready and waiting!

The end result is an insanely delicious, fudgy treat! The best part is that you’re not really eating a lot volume-wise, but no joke, this small bowl keeps me full for a good 4 hours!!!!!!

I also like to enjoy it with some fresh berries on top. 😉

As for my second go-to breakfast.. well I suppose I will brace myself now for the onslaught of ridicule and laughter… 😉 ..this will totally make me sound like an old lady, but the star of my second breakfast is All Bran Flakes.

Yes, I said it.  I LOVE ALL-BRAN FLAKES!

If you actually take a good look on the nutritional label of all the ‘healthy’ cereals out there, nothing beats All-Bran Flakes!

I will make myself a small protein shake that includes 3/4C 1% milk and a 3/4 scoop of protein powder.  The protein shake along with a small bowl of All Bran flakes and a small bowl of berries = AWESOME breakfast!  This one also carries me through till 11!

I guess what I’m getting at with this whole post is that you don’t have to only enjoy protein shakes before/after workouts.  Funny enough, I was actually totally against having protein powder this time last year.  I went through a big mind/body transformation in the past year and now can’t live without it.  It’s helped to keep my weight in check (note: I also do still eat a morning AND afternoon snack!), and it has helped to keep me feeling strong.

Have you tried protein powder with your breakfasts yet?

One thought on “Breakfasts With Staying Power

Leave a Reply

