Workouts

Not All Workouts Rock

I don’t usually make a post on Saturdays, let alone 2 on a single Saturday, but I felt that I wanted to share a recap on this morning’s workout while it’s still fresh in my mind.

This past little while, I haven’t been doing too much aside from riding in terms of workouts.  Deep down, I know it’s all stemmed from a general fear that I’ll irritate my dormant hives just enough and they’ll progress from the itchy rash that I’ve been getting, to full blown hives again.  That being said, I decided to just suck it up and tackle a 30 minute circuit workout today.  Next weekend is the Terry Fox Run and I plan to participate no matter how long it might take me, so I figured I better at least get in other workouts the week so that I’ll be raring to go.

I decided to pull out my trusty iPod and tackle a circuit workout from the Nike training app (which I’ve spoken about before here).  I chose a 30 minute Circuit Challenge that looked like this:

  • light jog – 2 min
  • back pedal – 2 min
  • straight leg kicks – 2 min
  • recover – 2 min
  • alternating step back lunges (w/ 8lb weights) – 2 min
  • sumo squat with press (8 lb weights) – 2 min
  • squats – 30 sec
  • squat jumps – 30 sec
  • push ups – 1 min
  • single leg deadlift w/ reverse fly (5lb weights) – 2 min
  • recover – 1 min
  • plank rows (5lb weights) – 1 min
  • crazy ivans – 2 min
  • knee tucks – 1 min
  • plank walks – 1 min
  • deadlift (5lb weights) – 2 min
  • froggers – 1 min
  • 2 feet forward/backward jumps – 1 min
  • lying quad stretch – 2 min
  • standing hamstring stretch – 2 min
  • lower back stretch – 1 min

Overall it was a killer workout that I would definitely do again.  The reason that I wanted to blog about it though stems from the fact that I had a tiny bit of a mental breakdown/block while doing the plank walks.  Plank walks were a very common move in the Jillian Michaels workouts that I concentrated on all winter and by spring time. I had them mastered.  I could bust out a minute with no problems what-so-ever!  But today, I found it one of the toughest moves of the entire exercise.  Yes, it’s understandable because I physically, have not been able to keep up with the crazy workout schedule I was on all winter long (when my hives weren’t irritated by sweat), but it was still a tough blow to the ego.  While doing the move today, I had this overwhelming feeling of failure because I was finding it so tough and even welled up a bit.  It was at that point where I had to get my mind in check.  When it comes to working out, the mind plays such a MASSIVE part in how well you perform.  Looking back, I can fully admit that my mind wasn’t really in it and that I was letting myself down by comparing myself to how I was able to perform when I was working out 6x a week with no itchiness.  Thankfully, I only let myself think negatively during that move and then made the decision to move on and finish off strong. And that’s what I did.

I guess what I’m getting at here is that our bodies really are tough and it’s actually our minds that are our true enemies when things aren’t going right.  The key is to figure out how to power through the negative thoughts and truly believe that you can do what you set your mind to.  I had my weak moment today, but the best part of the whole workout was the fact that I didn’t give up and pushed through.

I definitely plan on tackling this one again someday soon!

Have a great weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

