Life

12 Years Of Chelsea: Part 2

…if you missed part 1, check it out here.

So now, where were we?  Oh yes, ummm I was 16 years old and my amazing parents actually bought me a horse! 😉

I didn’t compete anymore that summer, but that didn’t matter to me as I was having too much fun working with my new girl Chelsea.  The following year, we made our debut in the show ring together and had an incredible first year.  We seemed to mesh really well together and made a great team.

Chelsea and I managed to get 2 solid show seasons in together and then it was time for yet another big life change – I was off to university!  The summer before I went away to school, our family went through some big changes.  Due to my dad moving up in his career, my parents made the big move from Eastern Ontario to a city just outside of Toronto.  So the fall of 2002, my parents were in Oshawa, I was headed to Guelph and Chelsea stayed back with my coach.  It just so happened that Chelsea and I had qualified for our provincial championships that summer, so we got to compete together one more time that year just outside of Toronto, but after that weekend, I said goodbye to my girl. 

We had decided that it would probably be best to try to sell her at that point.  Chelsea had a promising show-career ahead of her and I was just beginning my 4-year degree.

Two months went by and Chelsea had not sold.  I went through quite a few ups and downs during that period when it came to my girl and then finally my parents decided that we would halt the attempt to sell her and bring her to Oshawa.  This is where I have to say that my dad rocks! (xox dad!) That whole move came pretty sudden and I had to reach out to the online horse community in a pinch to try to find a farm close to my parents where Chelsea could go.  I gave my dad a list and he picked what I can easily call the BEST FARM EVER.  Friends of ours were on their way to the Royal Winter Fair in Toronto at this time, and agreed to bring Chelsea along with them and drop her off on their way by Oshawa.

I was still in Guelph trying my best to be a good 1st year student during all of this, so when that first weekend came after Chelsea made her move, I couldn’t get to Oshawa fast enough!  I hadn’t seen my girl in 2 months… it was the longest we had ever gone apart since I first met her, and the last time I saw her, I thought I was saying goodbye for good… I can’t even put into words how excited I was to go and see her at her new home that day.

It’s been almost 10 years since that day, and I can still remember the pivotal moment like it was yesterday.

After only about an 8 minute drive from my parents’ house, we pulled into a long driveway that led to a quaint little barn.  I loved the property from first sight. My dad did good.  I walked into the barn and before even knowing where Chelsea was, I just said “Hi Chelsea!”.  The sound that came out of my girl was just so incredibly sweet and heartbreaking all at the same time.  I’m pretty sure I cried when I saw her and if a horse could cry, that girl was crying too.  We were back together. My horse and I were reunited.

…stay tuned for Part 3, the conclusion of this series tomorrow! 😉

One thought on “12 Years Of Chelsea: Part 2

  1. Pingback: 12 Years Of Chelsea: Part 3 | My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

