Food/Recipes

Quinoa-Stuffed Zucchini

Going into last night’s supper, I knew that I wanted to create something with a nice light, fresh and simple taste.  Being that we’re now in the time of year where Ontario produce is in abundance, I wanted to create a meal where that produce is the star of the show. 

Enter zucchini.

Growing up, I was never really a big fan of zucchini. I can’t really remember my mom serving it to us very much, but I do remember not being the happiest camper when that green vegetable made its way onto my plate.  As I’ve gotten older, my taste buds have changed and over the past 5 years or so, zucchini has become one of my favourite vegetables.

In the summer months, I usually just slice my zucchini in half, sprinkle the halves with a little salt, pepper and olive oil and toss them on the grill.  They are fantastic that way, but last night I wanted to try something a little different. I decided to stuff them. 

As expected, they turned out amazing!  But hey, how can you go wrong with quinoa and zucchini, right? 😉

What You Need:

  • 2 medium-large zucchini
  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 1 large green onion, diced
  • salt
  • pepper
  • garlic powder
  • 1 lime

What You Do:

– wash the zucchini and slice lengthwise

– now use a spoon to dig out the seeds and make little boats – set aside

– in a small bowl, mix together the cooked quinoa, diced tomato, green onion, salt, pepper and garlic powder followed by the juice from 1/2 of a lime

– give the mixture one more good stir and fill your zucchini boats (any extra can be refrigerated and eaten as a nice side salad the next day 😉 )

– cook directly on the grill at low for approximately 20 minutes

– as soon as you remove them from the grill (be very careful as they will be fragile when cooked), squeeze some more lime juice on top just to finish them off

– it just so happened that I had turkey breast and corn on the menu as well, so I squeezed the lime juice on everything and it definitely made the meal

Enjoy this summery treat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

