Life / Workouts

A 15 Minute Workout Summer Blast

I haven’t really spoken about workouts for a while on the blog and I’ve recently realized that I’ve completely forgotten to log my workouts for the past 6 weeks or so. To be completely honest with you, I think that is due to the realization of the fact that my workouts have been nothing less than irregular lately. Towards the end of May, when the red itchy rash made its return while working out, I became scared.  The last thing I wanted was to end up where I was last summer being completely immobile due to being covered in hives.  Subconsciously, I have allowed my body to convince myself that I’m too tired almost constantly thus making a perfect excuse not to workout. Yes, I have fallen victim to excuses. There’s also been that little voice in the back of my head screaming the “what if you get hives again!” that’s held me back, but that that’s also an excuse.  I hate excuses and starting now, I won’t allow myself to make any more excuses.  I have come to learn that my body can manage with about 15-20 minutes of intense working out at a time, so I will work with what I go. It is what it is.

So what brought this on all of a sudden???

Last weekend, while at my parents’ house for supper, just for interest-sake, I went down to their basement by myself and stepped on the scale. I almost felt a sense of disbelief when I glanced down and saw 122.6 lbs flashing in my face. Ummm.. 122!?  Holy Cow! Considering the fact that I was 125 lbs when I decided to slow down the intensity of my workouts, stop calorie counting and start working on maintaining, the drop came to a bit of a surprise to me. A great surprise! Maybe it’s all the sweaty hours-long gardening sessions that’s been helping me out? 😉

Now with that being said, seeing the lower number on the scale struck a little something in me. I’m pretty happy with where I am at right now, but I find myself wanting more. I don’t necessarily want to lose any more weight, but I want to become stronger.  I tried going the no-training-plan route for the past few months, but I have since realized that I seem to work better when I have a plan in front of me where I am able to check off workouts as I go.  It is for this reason, that I have put together a specific 15 Minute Summer Blast plan for the month of July.

With this plan, I hope to complete at least one 15 minute workout, 6x a week.  Thanks to the amazing Nike Training App that I have on my iPod, I have quite a few 15 minute, target-specific workouts right at my fingertips.  So the plan is to alternate a strength training day with a cardio day, and so-on.  Strength workouts will target areas like arms, legs, shoulders, back and core.  As for cardio, I hope to either do a light walk/run or one of the cardio blast workouts from the Nike app.

So there you have it. A new plan for a new month (although 6 days late ;)). I seem to be much more accountable when I post on here about a plan, so I hope I can do this!  Maybe I’ll even get Chris to snap some before photos for me tomorrow to see if there is any change after a good month of solid training again, even if it’s only for 15 minutes a day.

Wish me luck!

p.s. if you are interested in this plan, I’d be happy to send you a copy!

Leave a Reply

