Food/Recipes / Product Reviews

Dearest CHO, How I Love You So

A couple of weeks ago, to my surprise, I received an email from the ladies over at Chobani inviting me to a CHO-inspired supper at a fancy downtown Toronto restaurant.  My initial reaction to that invite was something along the lines of – did you really mean to send this to me? Laura?

It turns out that I was invited to my first blog event and unfortunately, I had to decline.  Being that I live over an hour away from Toronto on a good day, the night of the supper just didn’t fit into my schedule as I was supposed to work at another office that day which happens to be located even further away.  It was too bad as it would have been awesome to attend, eat some great food, meet some other bloggers and the ladies from CHO. 

Thankfully though, again thanks to those awesome ladies, I got to feel like I was part of the group in my own little way. 🙂

Last Thursday, the day after the CHO supper in Toronto, a delivery man popped into my office proclaiming “TA-DA!” as he set down this sucker on my desk.

Even though I could not make it to the event, Chobani was oh so kind enough to send me some CHO to try all the way out here!  The moment the bag was dropped off, I was PUMPED!

I’ve been reading healthy-living blogs for almost 3 years now (most written by Americans) and one main thing that MANY of them have in common is Chobani Greek Yogurt.  So many bloggers have deemed CHO one of their favourites and I have always wanted to give it a try.  Several months ago, the yogurt became available in some Loblaws stores downtown Toronto, but has yet to expand in stores across Canada.  Since I can’t justify the gas to drive into Toronto just to buy some yogurt, I was still left in the dark about the goodness of CHO.

After a crazy turn of events the day the CHO was dropped off…ie. Chris surprising me with tickets to Odysseo… I was not able to get the CHO home and actually try it until Saturday morning.

I’m not going to lie, I woke up Saturday morning with only one thing on my mind… MUST—TRY—THE—CHO!!!

Chris wanted to give the CHO a try as well, so we both agreed that Cherry would be the first one to try. I still may have been half asleep as I dipped my spoon into the yogurt cup for the first time, but my taste buds woke up pretty quickly. 😉

This yogurt wasn’t just good… it was GOOOOOD!

The ladies from Chobani had sent me 4 flavours to try: Cherry, Strawberry, Peach and Pomegranate..

My favourite of the 4 was the Pomegranate – hands down.  I may have even tweeted Chobani explaining how it was like there was magic on my taste buds when I ate it?? .. mayyyybe?

Now, I know I could go on and on about how much I loved this stuff, but I owe you some details as to why.

  • the CHO is fruit on the bottom; something I’ve always loved
  • it has a perfectly smooth and creamy consistency/taste
  • it is fat free
  • it is packed full of protein making it a perfect afternoon snack for me as it helps hold me over through my rides on Chelsea after work until supper time
  • it even has chunks of fruit in it! ie. the pomegranate actually had little pomegranate seeds in it!

All in all, I feel very fortunate to have been able to sample this incredible product.  Only now can I truly understand and appreciate why so many bloggers out there consume Chobani yogurt on a regular basis.  If it were available to me at one of my local grocery stores, I would most definitely start buying it regularly – no questions asked. 

So, I finish this post with a nice little question…

Dearest people from Chobani, oh pretty please bring your product to a store in my little town of Bowmanville! You will be VERY loved!! 🙂

p.s. I’m actually a little sad now that I have finished the samples and am unsure as to when I’ll ever get to try it again. 😦

Leave a Reply

