Food/Recipes

Bruschetta Stuffed Chicken Breast

‘Tis the season for fresh herbs and fresh tasting meals. 

I just love this time of year for the simple fact that I can easily walk out to my back yard and snip some herbs to add that extra major boost of flavour to my meals.  Basil is one of my favourite go-to herbs and the first thing that comes to my mind when I think of basil is fresh bruschetta.  Maybe that’s because it’s Chris’ absolute favourite appetizer when we go out? Or, maybe it’s because I actually really like it as well. 😉

With a not-so-ideal bbqing forcast earlier this week … as in a humidex in the high 30’s … I figured that I would throw something together using fresh bruschetta as my inspiration.  The result was a fresh, baked chicken breast that was out of this world. 🙂

Bruschetta Stuffed Chicken Breast

What You Need:

  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (I only had 3 on hand, but you’ll have enough bruschetta for 4)
  • 1/2 of a large onion; minced
  • 1 tomato; chopped into small pieces omitting the seeds
  • 4-5 fresh basil leaves
  • 1 clove of garlic; finely chopped or grated
  • salt
  • pepper
  • olive oil
  • red wine vinegar
  • montary jack or parmesan cheese; grated

What You Do:

– preheat the oven to 400 deg F and gather up your ingredients

– chop your onion and tomato and basil; grate your garlic and cheese – set cheese aside

– in a small bowl toss in the onion, tomato, garlic, basil, a pinch of salt & pepper, a splash of red wine vinegar and a splash of olive oil.

– give it a stir and set aside

– now grab your chicken breasts

– butterfly them by slicing very carefully through the middle of the breasts with a sharp knife

– spoon the bruschetta mixture on to the chicken breasts and sprinkle with cheese

– carefully fold over the breasts while tucking the mixture into them and place in a baking pan

– drizzle a bit of olive oil on top of the chicken and finish up by sprinkling them with a bit of salt and pepper

– bake for 35-40 minutes until the chicken is cooked and juices run clear

– garnish with more fresh basil and serve!

5 thoughts on “Bruschetta Stuffed Chicken Breast

  1. This looks amazing! I’m always looking for new ways to cook chicken…Just “Pinned” this, and will be trying it next week 🙂

  2. Hello, Lua…it’s me, Lynn from SC…LOVE those chicken breasts, and will absolutely make them up very soon.
    I’ll be spending more time on here going through your recipes…for now, keep up the good work, Hon!!

  3. Hi, Laura…it’s me, Lynn from SC…..I love this recipe! All the perfect ingredients…I will absolutely make this very soon. I’ll be looking through your recipes in the very near future…keep up the good work, Hon…love your blog!

Leave a Reply

