Food/Recipes

Turkey & Quinoa Skillet Dish

Happy Friday everyone!!!

I come to you today with one of the most simple, yet cost-effective and flavourful dishes I’ve made yet! Seriously though folks, ANYONE can make this meal – so read on.

With Chris being a commuter for work and me having post-work activities (ie. riding Chelsea), we usually don’t get home during the week until around the 7PM mark. Due to this fact, I am always on the hunt for meals that taste unbelievable, but in turn are completely simple and quick to put together.  Several weeks ago while scrolling through some blogs, I came across a recipe that inspired me to throw this particular dish together. (unfortunately for the life of me, I can’t remember where I saw it!) When it comes to what meals I prepare, I never want to sacrifice on the health factor, or the budget factor.  I take pride in the fact that I am able to continue to create healthy meals for us on a very low-budget.  It’s a skill that has really helped us out thus far in our married life and a skill that will in turn, continue to help as time goes on.  Anyway, this dish has pretty much become a staple on our weekly meal plan and I am actually really surprised that it took me this long to finally blog about it!!  The dish packs a TON of fresh flavour and is just a complete rock star in the health department.  The best part?  It costs just over $5 to make. 😀

Turkey & Quinoa Skillet Dish

What You Need:

  • 1 lb extra lean ground turkey
  • 1 can diced or stewed tomatoes
  • 1/2 C (approx) quinoa
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 2-3 Tbsp chopped fresh cilantro
  • juice from 1/4 of a lime
  • fresh baby spinach
  • 1-2 green onions chopped
  • cheese of choice

What You Do:

– gather up your ingredients

– preheat a nice shallow skillet and brown the turkey

– once the turkey is cooked, add in the can of tomatoes. You can used pre-seasoned, or plain. Completely up to you! 🙂

– stir it all up and now add the dried, uncooked quinoa

– stir up the mixture again and add your spices (do not add the cilantro yet!)

– now cover it up, set the temperature to low, and walk away!

– let the mixture cook away for about 8-10 minutes until the quinoa is cooked.  It will soak up most of the tomato liquid and flavour. 😉

– once it’s cooked you can add the fresh cilantro for that extra little punch

– followed by the juice from 1/4 of a lime

– mix it all up and serve immediately on top a bed of fresh baby spinach then garnish with your favourite cheese (montery jack works great) and some green onions.

Please do try this out and enjoy!! 🙂

Have a FANTASTIC LONG WEEKEND!!

9 thoughts on “Turkey & Quinoa Skillet Dish

  1. Pingback: The Meal Plan Re-Vamped!: September 8-14 | My Pink Thumb

  2. Pingback: The Meal Plan: September 15-21 | My Pink Thumb

  3. Pingback: The Meal Plan: September 29 – October 5 | My Pink Thumb

  4. Pingback: 2012 Top 5 | My Pink Thumb

  5. Pingback: The Meal Plan: January 5-11, 2013 | My Pink Thumb

  6. Pingback: The Meal Plan: January 12-18 | My Pink Thumb

  7. Pingback: The Meal Plan: January 19-25 | My Pink Thumb

  8. Pingback: The Meal Plan: February 2-8 | My Pink Thumb

  9. Pingback: The Meal Plan: November 23-29 | My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

