DIY / Pinterest To Life

Pinterest To Life: Cork Board Makeover

It is no secret that I’ve been in the process of transforming my home office space in preparation for my upcoming return to school.  So far, I have painted my accent wall and now I am working on some finishing touches to make it actually feel like an actual office space.  One thing that screams office is a cork board.  I didn’t want just any plain ol’ cork board though.  Why put the effort in making a nice and hopefully stylish area if I’m just going to hang a plain, brown board – right?

Of course, I turned to Pinterest and found myself inspired.

I loved the look of this pin board and really thought that something with white paint would add a really nice punch to my accent wall.  Unfortunately, this girl is on a MEGA budget for this makeover and I couldn’t afford the pack of 4 cork tiles needed to recreate this exactly. So, what was a girl to do?

Well, I took the board above as some inspiration.  I picked up a $6 cork board from Walmart that was within my budget and I got my thinking cap on.

I’m pretty happy with the finished product. 🙂

I haven’t had the chance to hang it up in its permanent home as of yet. But do be patient. I hope to post a little office reveal later on this week.  In the meantime, here’s how I made this little gem. 🙂

First off, I gathered my supplies.  A $6 cork board from Walmart, green painter’s tape, sand paper, paint and a paint brush. Thankfully I already had all supplies on hand, except for the cord board itself.

Time to get to work!

Since the frame of the board comes with some sort of varnished coating, a good sanding job is required so that the paint will stick. 

Since my cork board wasn’t a perfect square, I figured that I wouldn’t be able to get the chevron-type look that I wanted, so I decided to go with a few simple stripes to add some interest.

Using my measuring tape as a guide, I taped out my stripes as well as the interior of the board as I planned to paint the edges too and did not want to accidentally paint someplace that was unplanned.  It only takes a few minutes to add the extra tape, so it is highly recommended to get the look that you desire.

Now it’s time to paint!

I used just some basic acrylic artist’s paint in white and a small art brush. But obviously, be creative and choose whatever colour you like!

I would recommend 2-3 light coats to achieve an optimum result.  Then let it dry for a good hour or 2 before attempting to remove the tape.

The moment of truth!!!

Just tear nice and slowly and you should have some beautiful, sharp, straight lines.  It is such a simple pattern, but it definitely packs a punch and for that I am happy.

I can’t wait to get this sucker up on the wall!

7 thoughts on “Pinterest To Life: Cork Board Makeover

  1. It turned out great. So you know for next time, the last time I was in Dollarama, they had the individual square cork boards.

  2. Pingback: DIY Home Office: Progress « My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

