Running / Workouts

Zombies, Run!!

Want to know how to make a run a little more fun?  Do you have an iPhone or an iPod Touch? (I think it’s coming to Android any day now, if it hasn’t come yet)

Try running from zombies!!!

I had heard about this app last fall when it was released and had wanted to try it, but didn’t have any sort of device to be able to do so.  I have had a new iPod Touch for a few weeks now and last Friday, decided to download this app and give it a go.  At $7.99, this is one of the more expensive apps, but it is so worth it!

So what exactly is this?

Well, I am still learning the ropes, but essentially it’s a story that continues to unfold the more you run.  I don’t want to give anything away story-wise, but for some reason there are zombies out and about and as you encounter them in your run, you literally have to RUN!!! The app allows you to listen to your own music, and it works by telling the story in between songs. 

You are a runner for Abel Township and through many missions have a goal of collecting much-needed items outside of the barriers of the base.  You will ‘collect’ things such as first aid kits, food, water, weapons, etc. and have the option to be notified via a vibration or voice over through the headphones.  The farther you run, the more items you collect. Once you return to the base after a mission – or finish up your run – you have the opportunity to apply the items that you collected to various areas of the base in order to make them stronger.  The big catch here though is that there are zombies running around everywhere!!!  If you set the app to zombie mode, as you progress to the course, you will be alerted of zombies on your tail at certain points.  You could be running along, rocking out to one of your favourite songs and then suddenly you will hear unsettling grunts and an exclamation along the lines of “zombies! Run!!!”. You then literally have to pick up the pace and RUN HARD for at least 1 minute to get out of harm’s way.  When zombies are chasing you, you will hear a steady beep over the music. If you slow down, you will allow the zombies to get closer and the beeping will intensify and speed up.  Now you might be asking, what happens if a zombie catches you? Well, I don’t know first hand because I ran my little heart out the other night, but apparently you lose items that you collected in attempt to ward them off.

Now, I have only done 1 run so far with this app, but I will tell you right now that it was, hands down, a truly enjoyable experience.  It was really neat getting to listen to an actual story unfold as you run to your favourite songs all while quickly becoming a part of that story yourself.  I believe that there are currently about 30 missions available, so having only done 1 so far, I have a lot of incentive to keep on going as I want to hear how this story continues to unfold!  As for the zombies, it’s pretty funny to hear the grunting zombie noises as you’re running, but it’s SO awesome at the same time because you really want to outrun them!  I had some really great sprints during that first run on Friday night and if there weren’t zombies on my heels, I can honestly tell you that I would have slowed down MUCH sooner.

Here are some screen shots to give you an idea of how it unfolds (btw, I forgot to add, as you run, it is completely hands free just slide the bar and start running!)

This is what my home screen looks like right now.  If I were just going to go for a quick run, I could just slide the bar here and start running for a little side mission. That is home base. 

If you plan to set out on a longer run, you can choose to do a mission where you will hear the story. You can pick one that takes about 25-30 minutes, or one that can take about 60 minutes.  When I first started only the first mission was available and now that I have completed my first one, 2 more have been unlocked for future runs.

Once you complete a run/mission, you can then access your run log.  I finished my Friday night run at around the 28 minute mark, but forgot to actually stop the run when I finished, so that is why my log shows 40 minutes. Oops! 😉

 

It is here where you can see a detailed run down of your run.  I only have an iPod, so no benefit of GPS from an iPhone. That being said, mine tracks my paces, but I am guessing an iPhone would have the capability to track your distance.

      

I sure picked up a lot of stuff on one 28 minute mission!!! 😉

And this is a close-up of my home base now that I have brought back and distributed some supplies.

 

 

 

One of the main goals as you progress with the missions is to continue gathering supplies and distributing them around you base to make it stronger. —holy nerd alert right!? haha but I love it! 😉

All and all, I am a huge fan of this app and am really looking forward to my next run so that I can evade some more zombies!! Boo ya!!

 

4 thoughts on “Zombies, Run!!

    • yes, I do agree that $7.99 is pricey, and it took me a while to bite the bullet and purchase it… BUT I am so glad that I went for it as it was so enjoyable and totally worth it. 🙂

  1. I’m glad you wrote about this. I too have been thinking about getting it but at $7.99, I’m just not sure it will be worth it. You will have to keep us updated on it. I realize it was fun your first run, do you think it would still be fun 10 runs later or the novelty will wear off after a few?

    • I am defintiely planning on using this app for all of my runs in the near future (except for my race on Sunday), so I’ll plan on reporting back in a couple of weeks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

