Life / Running / Workouts

And Run I Shall

A short 4 months ago, I would have never thought that I’d be saying this but…

I HAVE REGISTERED FOR THE 2012 SPORTING LIFE 10K!!!!! Remember when Chris and I did this race 2 years ago?

Wow. How far I have come.

I have been on a few runs in the past few weeks and have felt REALLY good.  I have felt so good that I am 100% confident that I’ll be able to tackled the 10K on May 13. 

When I decided to run the race a few days ago, I hit up google and found a great 5 week training/tune up plan that I’ve adapted and plan to work with to get better prepared for race day.  I even ordered up myself a new pair of shoes to make the training even sweeter! They are Brooks Glycerin 8 and were a steal at only $59.99!  I am just waiting for them to arrive!

The best part about this particular run is that essentially 100% of the proceeds + money raised goes directly to Camp Oochigeas, a Toronto-based camp especially for kids with Cancer.  The camp runs inside Toronto’s Sick Kids Hospital, at a facility downtown Toronto, and at an outdoor camp up in Muskoka and is run totally off of donations from amazing people.  Thanks to donations, kids with cancer are able to go to camp for FREE!!!!

So, here is where you’ll get my little fund-raising spiel. 😉 As a part of this race, I am fundraising in attempt to send some kids to camp.  If you feel like being a part of something amazing, please donate via my fundraising page at this link: https://www.ooch.org/LauraNiejadlik

Let the training commence!

One thought on “And Run I Shall

  1. Pingback: Training For A 10K « My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

