Food/Recipes

Rustic Whole Wheat Protein Pancakes

While relaxing on the couch yesterday, enjoying my cup of coffee (my favourite Sunday morning tradition), I found myself brainstorming what to make for breakfast.  I had already eaten half of a blueberry bagel to curb the initial stomach growling, but I definitely needed something more substantial.  My body was craving protein, but I didn’t feel like simply having a bowl of yogurt or a protein shake.  I then decided to try to whip up a batch of pancakes with yogurt in them.  After doing a quick inventory of what ingredients I had on hand, I got to work.

The result?

Rustic Whole Wheat Protein Pancakes

Cook Time: approx. 30 min for the entire batch

Yields: 10-12 pancakes, 3.5-4″ in diameter

Nutrition: 2 pancakes (no topping) = cal – 215 / carbs – 40g / fat – 2g / protein – 12g / fiber – 7g / sug – 1g

What You Need:

  • 2 cups soft whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2-3/4 cup water (as needed)

What You Do:

– sift your dry ingredients together in a large bowl

– make a little well in the middle and add the wet ingredients

– stir until combined adding water as needed… you’ll want a thick batter-like consistency

– drop onto a hot, very lightly oiled on-stick pan over medium heat

– the thick batter will give you nice hefty rustic pancakes.  Flip once the edges start to appear cooked.

– once cooked serve topped with your favourite pancake toppings. I decided to quickly microwave an apple, sprinkled with cinnamon and use that as my topping. No syrup necessary…although I would have used syrup as well if we had any. 😉

Believe it or not, I only needed two of these deliciously hefty pancakes to satisfy my hungry Sunday morning belly. This is a great thing, because leftovers are always welcome in our house! 🙂

Leave a Reply

