Life

Back To Class

On May 11, I will officially be able to dub myself a ‘student’ again and I couldn’t be more excited. 🙂

I’ve been toying with the idea of taking some online college courses for quite some time now in attempt to work towards a certificate in something that I’m really passionate about.  I sat on the idea for quite some time and after some unique changes of events in my workplace this past week, I got the swift kick in the butt that I needed and took a leap of faith.  I am now registered and ready to begin this newest journey and look forward to working towards my certificate in Website Creation and Design at Durham College.

Why Website Creation and Design?

My love of computers and the web go way back to when I was just a kid. When we first got the internet I became hooked with the phenomenon pretty much instantly. I remember creating my very first personal webpage at the ripe old age of 11. It had something to do with horses and that’s all I can really remember. Through my early teen years, I spent the majority of my free time chatting with other horse-crazy girls via an online message board all white continuing to dabble in creating horse-themed pages.  When it came time for post-secondary education, the though of doing something in the website creation field never even crossed my mind.  I had taken an ancient history class in grade 11 or 12 and found a new love.  That love then led me to pursuing and earning my Bachelor of Arts Honours degree from the University of Guelph in Classical Studies.  I took a few computer/web courses as electives in university and that was that.

I’m now at a point in my life where I feel that I just need something more.  I need a challenge in something that grasps my interests… something that might potentially allow me to really one day work the job of my dreams.

Although I wanted to dive right in and start with two courses this coming semester, I thought it best to gradually get back into the swing of things school-wise, so I will begin with one.  I am required to take 5 pre-determined courses and 2 additional courses from a set list of 6 or 7 in order to earn the certificate. So, if all goes well, in a few years, I should be the proud owner of an official certificate in Website Design and Creation.

Wish me luck! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Back To Class

  1. Pingback: Pinterest To Life: Cork Board Makeover « My Pink Thumb

  2. Pingback: DIY Home Office: Progress « My Pink Thumb

  3. Pingback: Back To Class: Name Card Assignment « My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

