Food/Recipes / Jamaica

A Taste of Jamaica

If there was one thing (well aside from my daily dose of stewed beans..mmm) I’ve been missing food-wise since getting home from Jamaica, that would have to be rice & peas.  Oh boy do I ever love that side dish. And I proved to myself this week that no one makes it as good as those beautiful Jamaica people.

I had a craving though, and thought I would try my hand at making a batch on my own.  So I hit up google for a recipe and found one on a site called eatjamaican.com. That’s got to be a legit recipe right?

Here’s the original recipe:

1 medium sized can red kidney beans
1 can coconut milk
2 cups of rice
1 small onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, chopped
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1 table spoon oil
1 scotch bonnet pepper (whole, do not chop up)
water

Drain the liquid from the can of beans into a measuring cup and add the can of coconut milk and enough water to make four cups of liquid. Place liquids in a pot with beans, onions, garlic, thyme and oil, bring to a boil. Add rice and stir for a minute. Reduce heat to Medium-Low. Place scotch bonnet pepper on top of liquid and cover tightly for 30 minutes or until rice is cooked. Remove scotch bonnet pepper before serving.

I am notorious for altering recipes in attempt to make them as healthy as possible, so I used long stem brown rice and omitted the oil (and pepper.. because I hate peppers!).

I followed the directions almost to a T .. well I also didn’t use the liquid from the beans, but fresh water with the coconut milk…

I even let it cook for about 45-50 minutes, since brown takes longer to cook. But, my rice & peas was destined to be a little more like mushy rice & peas.. Boo!!

Regardless of how it turned out, I still served it with my beautiful roasted chicken that day..

 

Even though the final texture was just a little off, the taste was phenomenal.  And for a little moment when I was eating, I closed my eyes, and imagined that I was back in Jamaica. 🙂

Leave a Reply

