DIY / Home Projects / Life

Spring Is In The Air!

For living in Ontario, it’s not very often that it actually FEELS like spring once spring ‘officially’ arrives.  We were definitely treated with the BEST winter I have ever experienced in my life and I am so happy and thankful for these warm springy temps that March has brought.

As much as I would just love to start digging away in my garden right away, the realist in my has had to hold back and wait as it really is just a tad too early to start with that.  I wanted to tidy up the front garden this past weekend, but quickly had to remind myself that we still had 3 more weeks to wait before the city would even pick up any yard waste, so I decided to wait.

With an urge to do something spring-like last Sunday, I decided that it was about time that I took down the winter/Christmas art work from our wall behind the couch. 😉


Don’t you think it’s about time for something a little brighter and more cheerful?

Thanks to my beloved Pinterest, it wasn’t hard to find some spring-like images to print out and swap with the cool cozy ones that were still hanging.

 

   

Now, those quick art changes were all find in dandy, but I had a little something else in mind this time.  I’ve had one of Chelsea’s first shoes (that she wore when she was only 5; she’ll be 16 this yr) that I wanted to hang on the wall as art and I had an idea as to how I could do that.

First I grabbed some of my spare fabric from the basement and the shoe. I thought the yellow would be nice and cheery for the wall.

Next up, I cut ribbon strips from the fabric about an inch in width and 8 inches in length.

Then came the REALLY HARD part. 😉  I simply threaded the ‘ribbons’ of fabric through the cork holes on the shoes and tied a goot knot. (To my non-horsey readers, the holes are called cork holes as they are actually threaded holes that are drilled into the shoes to accomodate corks.  Corks in the horse world are much like cleats are to soccer players. They are little metal nubs which come in various shapes and sizes and can be screwed into the horse’s shoes to allow for more traction when working and jumping on grass.)

 

One more step now.  Simply twist the ‘ribbons’ and tie them together in a knot so that it has something to hang on.

 

I then trimmed off any extra ends and added it to my little gallery wall.

i’m very happy with the results.

I also want to point out that I had to rearrange the current placement of the frames not only for the addition of the shoe, but for the addition of our newest piece of Jamaican art. 🙂  We actually picked up a piece of art when we went last year for our wedding, but have yet to find a place for it to hang.  When we bought this one on this year’s trip, I knew right away that it was going to be added to this space, so I wanted to get it up right away!



Much better! 🙂

Total cost of this mini seasonal makeover = $6USD for the painting from Jamaica. Score!

Now, I thought that this little seasonal makeover would be it for now in this space, however we had an unexpected mini-disaster in our dining room area Monday morning which will have to be fixed this weekend.  I will only tell you so much for now, but I assure you that the mini-disaster is actually a blessing in disguise which I can’t wait to share with you! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Spring Is In The Air!

  1. Pingback: An Unexpected Face-Lift « My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

