Food/Recipes

Pumpkin Oatmeal Cake

Are you ready for something ooey-gooey, fudgy and delicious?? 

If so, you’re in the right place. 😉

After making some chili (with pumpkin) and some pea & pumpkin soup last week, I found myself left with about 1 cup of pumpkin sitting in the fridge waiting to be used up.  On Monday afternoon when Chris went next door to watch a movie, I came up with a little something on the fly.  The result was a delicious, spicey and almost chewy pumpkin oatmeal cake.. with chocolate chips of course! (I don’t think Chris would allow it any other way)

I literally made up the recipe on the spot and hoped for the best. Thankfully, it worked!  It was so good, that I had to give a nice chunk to my mom so I wouldn’t be tempted to eat the entire thing!

Pumpkin Oatmeal Cake

What You Need:

  • 1 C soft whole wheat flour
  • 1 C oats (process 1/2 C of them into a flour)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 C pumpkin
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 C brown sugar
  • 1/3 C milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 C chocolate chips

What You Do:

– this is another of my really difficult ones! 😉

– whisk all of the dry ingredients in a large bowl (flour, oats, baking powder, salt, spices) – set aside

– whisk all of the wet ingredients in a bowl along with the brown sugar (pumpkin, egg, sugar, vanilla, milk)

– add the wet ingredients to the dry and whisk everything together until combined

– stir in your chocolate chips (or raisins!! .. I really wanted to use raisins in this recipe, but Chris thinks they’re poison. I don’t think he’d be very happy with me if I baked something new knowing he wouldn’t eat it!)

– add literally a small drop of oil to your pan and spread it around just to prevent sticking

– now spread your mixture into the pan (mine is about 9 inches in diameter) – it will be thick

– and for a little something extra, sprinkle some more chocolate chips on top 😉

– bake at 350 degrees for approximately 30-35 minutes.  It will be done when it passes the toothpick test 😉

Now, I’m going to mention something just because my mom brought it up.  If you’re looking for a nice soft and fluffy cake, you’re not going to get it with this recipe.  This will yield a denser cake with almost a brownie-like texture – something Chris and I both love.  If you’re ok with that, I would love it if you gave this recipe a test and let me know how it turns out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

