Food/Recipes

Crock Pot Yellow Split Pea & Pumpkin Soup

As promised, I have a new recipe for you today.  And it’s a crock pot recipe too, which is awesome because everyone loves coming home to supper already made. (If you don’t own a crock pot – what are you waiting for!?)

This particular recipe is one that my mom would make for our family a lot when I was in my early teens.  At this time of my life, my eldest brother was trying his hand at being vegetarian (for a girl!) so my mom was attempting to make vegetarian meals for him that would also satisfy the meat lovers in the family – ie. the rest of us. 😉  Despite the lack of meat, I remember just loving this dish so much that I’m actually surprised in the fact that I haven’t asked her for the recipe sooner!

The original recipe came from a book called “The Meatless Gourmet” by Bobbie Hinman.  Although it’s just fantastic in it’s original form, I decided to put my own little spin on it and alter it just a smidge to make it work for the crock pot.

Needless to say, I was sitting at my desk drooling all day long yesterday, thinking about this soup cooking away.  It’s very low in fat (as it practically non-existant), high in protein and low in calories. I definitely recommend you give it a shot.

Crock Pot Yellow Split Pea & Pumpkin Soup

What You Need:

  • 1.5 C onion, cut vertically into strips
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 4 C (1 carton) veggie or chicken stock
  • 1 C yellow split peas, dried
  • 1 C pumpkin
  • 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 C chopped ham (if you don’t want it vegetarian)

What You Do:

– this is a hard one folks…. toss all of your ingredients into your crock pot.

– give it a good stir

– put the lid on

– turn the crock pot on and set it to low for 8 hours

– walk away… go to work.. or go do whatever you normally do for the day

– come home to a delicious soup all ready to eat

– serve, and enjoy!

This recipe is definitely good with or without the ham.. I just wanted a little something extra yesterday to up the protein just a smidge.  Even without though, you’re looking at about 14g of protein per serving! Oh and the recipe makes 4 servings. 😉

3 thoughts on “Crock Pot Yellow Split Pea & Pumpkin Soup

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Oatmeal Cake « My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

