Life / Workouts

An Attempt At Running

Back in January 2010, I decided that I wanted to try my hand at running.  I took onto it pretty quickly thanks to the help of the Couch To 5K plan and then went on to complete a few races.  After taking a bit of a break during the winter of 2010/2011, I attempted to train for a half marathon, but then ended up with an unfortunate injury.  Once I started to feel better, my lovely chronic hives set in thus putting my very brief running career at a standstill. Aside from toughing it out to do the Terry Fox Run with my family back in September, I hadn’t done a run since last Friday.

Aside from having a little hive/itchiness issue while doing intense cycling on my stationary bike, I’ve felt great and decided that I wanted to try a run Friday evening.  I wasn’t just going to do any run though.  I went in with the goal to see if I could bust out a 5K.  It just so happened that Chris and I were dog sitting my parents pup Charlie, so I set out to tackle my goal on their treadmill.

…with a dvd of my favourite band to watch while I was at it

 After a brief warm up, I began my run and it felt OH SO GOOD!  It had been waaay too long.  The best part about it was that I felt so strong and felt like I hadn’t even had a break!  I guess that goes to show how much daily workouts really do help. 🙂

Then it happened…

About 10 minutes in, I started to experience the same thing that I experienced while on the bike.  The red, hivey rash started to appear on my arms, my sides and my stomach.  I had to peel off my shirt right away due to the intense itchiness and take a walk break.

…that’s my “I’m not very happy about this” face

I had a goal though so I decided right then and there to keep on going until I reached my 5K.  The itchiness seemed to intensify as I ran, but as soon as I would walk it would go away! So with that, I walked and I ran until I passed that 5K mark at 37:30.  It definitely wasn’t as fast as I’m used to, and it also kind of upset me a bit because I knew that my body was strong enough to do it much faster – BUT, I did it and for that I was proud.

When it was all said and done, I spent a good 40 minutes on that treadmill and was happy for it.

The downside?

It doesn’t look like I’m going to be running any races soon – which sucks. But, I guess I’ll take that for now.  In comparison to 4 months ago, my hives situation is exponentially better and at this point, if I can do other forms of working out instead of running, I am happy.  And who knows, maybe once I let some more time pass and try to run again things will be different. We shall see. 🙂

3 thoughts on “An Attempt At Running

  1. Pingback: The Hives – One Year Later « My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

