Food/Recipes

White Bean Dip + Snack Prep

Back in early December when I recognized that fact that I needed to start doing something about my health/weight issue (see here), one of the first things that I re-evaluated was my snacks for work.  Looking back, I was either eating too much of something, or not enough all together. Basically, I really was not helping my metabolism in any way and the snacking, or lack-thereof was just another factor which added to my state at the time.  Within the past few weeks, I have come to realize that if I just put in the time on a Sunday to do something like chop up a ton of carrots..

..and then cover them with water so the stay fresh for the week..

..prepping my snacks for the week would be come easier making me more apt to actually do it.

Common snacks for me to bring are 1/2 of an apple + 10 almonds for about 10am, and about 1C of carrot sticks + 2Tbsp of a homemade dip for about 3:30pm.  Having the carrots already chopped so that I can just grab them quick and pack them the night before work is proving to make things SO much easier!

Plain carrots are no fun, so I’ve also started making some healthy protein-packed dips to go with them.  I made a hummus a couple of weeks ago without tahini and although it was good, the recipe needs a bit more tweaking before it’s blog-worthy. 😉  I did try something different this week though and the result was fantastic!  If you like garlic, you’ll LOVE this one.

White Bean Dip

 

What You Need:

  • 1 can of white kidney beans, drained
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 3 green onions, roughly chopped
  • juice from 1/2 of a lemon
  • approx. 2 Tbsp of olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper

What You Do:

– gather up all of your ingredients and bring out your trusty food processor

– now, this step is REALLY hard. 😉 Put all of your ingredients into the food processor. Don’t forget to squeeze the lemon juice and add a couple pinches of salt and pepper. (I cracked open my Fleur De Sel that I got for Christmas for this one!)


– pulse everything a couple of times just to get it started and then process until the mixture is nice and smooth


– That’s it, that’s all! Spoon the dip into a storage container and store in the fridge until you’re ready to use!

– it’s been perfect for my afternoon snacks this week

…Just remember, the garlic flavour continues to intensify the longer it sits in the fridge. So, when you’re a garlic-lover like me, that’s a good thing!! My co-workers have been warned. 😉

Leave a Reply

