Workouts

Ripped In 30 – Week 2 Recap

And as expected, this challenge is flying by just a quickly as the last one!  This morning i completed Day 1 of Level 3 from Ripped In 30 and that only means one thing! Time for my Week 2 recap.


I worked out to Level 2 for 6 days straight and can easily say that it was NOT a fun time! 😉  Jillian really has kicked things up several kntoches on this dvd in comparison to the 30 Day Shred (so I defintiely recommend doing the shred first!).  I really hated Jillian for this level as she completely kicked my ass every single day.  The cardio! Oh the cardio! Circuit 1 is the worst!  Plank-jacks for 30 sec – mountain climbers 30 sec – REPEAT! That killed me each morning. Wow.  Let’s just say that each and every day of this level was extremely challenging and I’m glad it’s over! lol

Day 6 – January 16, 2012

Well here we go! Level 2! I felt extremely tired after the crazy weekend that we had, but was happy to get started with a new level. I didn’t preview the level beforehand and that was a mistake because I certainly wasn’t happier anymore when I was struggling and panting my way through circuit 1!! What did I get myself into?! At least I had a fantastic ride on Chelsea tonight including some jumping! Felt awesome!

Day 7 – January 17, 2012

So didn’t want to get out of bed this morning, but I talked myself down to the basement with the promise that everything WILL be worth it!! I used only 3lb weights yesterday and used them again today to try and get a feel for the moves a little better before upping them. There are a couple of moves that I’m having a LOT of touble with – ie. crow push-ups.. umm?!!? .. and the ab-lift into a bridge. Honestly, am I the only one who thinks my arms are too short to do this move effectively? I hit the bike after work today for a 32min, 16.4km ride for an extra burn.

Day 8  – January 18, 2012

I’m not going to lie, I felt a bit discouraged going into the workout today knowing that I have such a hard time with certain moves. I thought I was strong after the shred, but I guess this just proves that I still have a lot of hard work ahead of me to get my strength where it needs to be.  I upped the weights to the 5lb dumb bells and powered on through to the best of my abilities. I will conquer this!

Day 9 – January 19, 2012

I’ve been feeling extra tired the past day and a bit – maybe I’m fighting something? So I didn’t do an extra workout yesterday or this morning.  Still hating level 2! haha But as much as I’d like to stop after about only 6-8 minutes, I make sure I kick into the little mind over matter tool and keep on pushing myself through.  I won’t get results without putting in a full effort right?

Day 10 – January 20, 2012

Friday – yay! I think I’m starting to become the queen of modifiers! lol  In this short week, I’ve learned not to be so hard on myself and when it gets too hard, to just modify!  I’m better off in the end if I just keep on moving, vs. sitting out certain moves and taking more breaks.  I’m able to push through the first cardio circuit much longer now, but damn Jillian is evil!! LOL

Day 11 – January 21, 2012

I got to workout with Chris today in the basement – so fun!  Well, working out with him at the same time was fun! 😉 Let’s just say that I was extremely happy that this was the last day of level 2. I can’t say enough how much harder he can push me, just by having him there. The motivation and support is pretty great too.  I tried all of the ‘tough’ moves again and continued to modify where I needed. So glad this level is done though! Since it was Saturday, I hopped on the bike immediately after and pounded out a quick 5.42km in 11 minutes!! I actually really wanted to do more, but with 3 minutes left in the ride, my legs got all red and EXTREMELY ITCHY!!!! You see, I’ve been off antihisthamines completely since Yesterday morning (as per my allergists instructions – yay!) and I think my body might still be adjusting. Needless to say, I cut my ride short so that I wouldn’t become a crazy scratching woman and potentially bring out hives again.

Ripped In 30 – Level 2 Results

Starting weight (Dec 6): 133

Weight after 30 Day Shred: 127.4

Weight after Level 1 Ripped In 30: 127.8

Weight after Level 2 Ripped In 30: 126.8

Measurements:

upper arm = (left) 10.1″ (start 10.6″/post 30DS 10.3″)  (right) 10.1″ (start 10.5″/post 30DS 10.3″)

thigh = (left) 21.6″ (start 23.3″/post 30DS 22.7″)   (right) 21.6 (start 23″/post 30DS 22.7″)

high waist (as in skinniest part) = 27″ (start 29/post 30DS 27.5″)

low waist (right across the belly button) = 30.7″ (start 33.5″/post 30DS 31.8″)

hips = 36.5″ (start 37.6″/post 30DS 36.5″)

Total inches down from December 6 start: 9.7″!!!

Total weight down from December 6 start: 6.2lbs! 🙂

Two weeks to go!! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Ripped In 30 – Week 2 Recap

  1. Pingback: January 2012 Superlatives « My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

