Food/Recipes

Mushroom Lemon Chicken with Bok Choy

I take pride in my abilities to continuously create quick and healthy meals to feed Chris and myself on those busy week nights and just love that I am able to share those meals with you all.  I owe all of my cooking skills to my incredibly creative mother and just wanted to give her props for inspiring this recipe with one that she’d make from time to time.

I had a version of this meal in my head yesterday, but wasn’t exactly 100% sure how it was going to go until I did the once over on my fridge upon getting home from work.  Lemon chicken was on the meal plan, but then when I was reminded of the head of fresh bok choy sitting there my creative cooking brain juices got flowing. 😉

This recipe is so so easy and perfect for a weeknight meal.  Need to feed more than 2 people? Just up the ingredients a bit.  As I try with most of my recipes, it’s very forgiving, so get creative!  One thing I’d definitely recommend to kick it up a knotch is add a few splashes of white wine!! If I had some on hand, it would have been in the recipe hands down!

Mushroom Lemon Chicken with Bok Choy

Servings: 2

What you need:

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 C whole wheat flour
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 C (or more) chopped mushrooms
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • pinch of salt & pepepr
  • 1 head of bok choy, chopped (should yield about 4 C all chopped up)

What you do:

– pour the flour in a pie plate and set aside.  Now, slice up your chicken into strips

– turn on your frying pan to medium heat and while it’s heating up, drop the chicken into the flour and toss it around until the chicken is completely coated


– once the chicken is all coated, add the olive oil to your heated pan and then drop in the chicken

– allow about 10-15 minutes or so to cook all the way through stirring occasionally.  Use this time to chop up your mushrooms, bok choy and garlic.  When the chicken is cooked through and lightly browned, add your garlic and then your mushrooms.


– stir it all up and squeeze in the juice of one whole lemon, followed by a good pinch of salt and pepper

– allow to cook down for a few more minutes until you start to see the evidence of the flour cooking with the lemon juice.  It will have this creamy sort of texture/look to it

– when you get that look, you’re ready for the last step – steaming the bok choy!  You don’t want to overdo the bok choy, so add it at this point (it will seem like A LOT! but not to worry), and stir it in leaving it to cook for maybe 1-2 minutes.  You want the bok choy to be tender, but still nice and green.



– serve with your favourite grain as a side. I went with quinoa and it went perfectly together.

Enjoy! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Mushroom Lemon Chicken with Bok Choy

  1. I keep seeing bok choy show up on blogs and i really need to try it!
    This looks delicious (except for the whole mushroom part, lol – i’m not a fan)!
    I totally give my mum props for my cooking skills, she can turn leftovers into gourmet food 🙂

    • I’m not going to lie, I’m not the BIGGEST fan of bok choy. Chris really likes it though and it’s INSANELY good for you. In this dish, I actually really liked it! 🙂
      Skip the mushrooms! Maybe add something else? It will still taste awesome!
      Yeah my mom is a queen in the kitchen. I’m so lucky to get to go and have lunch with her every day. It’s like I get gourmet 5x a week!

  2. Pingback: January 2012 Superlatives « My Pink Thumb

  3. Pingback: The Meal Plan Re-Vamped!: September 8-14 | My Pink Thumb

  4. Pingback: The Meal Plan: March 30 – April 5 | My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

