Life / Workouts

30-Day Shred Challenge: Level 3 Complete! + Before & After Photos

I’m not going to lie, 5 weeks ago when I began my 30-Day Shred Challenge, I was hopeful but unsure if I would ever make it to this point.Β  Basically, I have surprised myself during this challenge and can’t believe that I finished it! I couldn’t be more proud! πŸ™‚

Now you get the story behind the ‘paris pink’ Lululemon shirt that I washed in the sink yesterday. πŸ˜‰

When I was half way through the challenge, I decided that I would purchase myself a gift – ie. buy myself a new Lululemon top – once I completed the challenge. It was that little bit of additional incentive that helped me push on through.Β  This pink top was my gift to myself for completing the 30-Day Shred.Β  It actually arrived last week, but I would not allow myself to put it on until today! πŸ™‚ ..needless to say, I’m wearing it now and it’s oh so comfy!

So, my overall thoughts on Level 3?

IΒ defintiely liked this level way more than Level 2.Β  There was more of a variation in workouts and I felt that my entire body was being worked every single morning.Β  I did have to do some variations to save my knees though – ie. I couldn’t handle the rock star jumps so I subbed with jump rope and oblique twists – but that didn’t stop me.

Here’s the daily run-down:

Day 21 – December 29, 2011

First day of level 3! I previewed the level yesterday to get an idea of what to expect. It is very different in compared to level 2. It’s still extremely hard, but I can already tell that I like this level much better.Β  I feel that I’m actually working my whole body again vs. concentrating solely on shoulders and upper back.

Day 22 – December 30, 2011

I feel like such a bad ass doing the shadow boxin, butt kicks and jumping jacks with weights now! lol I’ve purchased a set of 3lb weights, so I’m using those along withe 5lb ones now.

Day 23 – December 31, 2011

Happy New Year’s Eve! Since it’s Saturday, my workout took place later on in the morning after we did groceries. I’m really having a hard time with the rock star jumps in circuit 3 — hurts my knees! So I started subbing with jump rope and I feel much better.

Day 24 – January 2, 2012

First workout of 2012! Took place later in the morning again as there’s no work today! πŸ™‚ I spent about an hour shovelling and scraping snow and ice off the driveway pre-workout making me a bit more tired to do the actual shred. I powered on through though and did it! I also rode Chelsea this morning!

Day 25 – January 3, 2012

Back onto my normal schedule today working out at 6am before work. It was definitely a struggle to get through the workout, but I pushed and am glad that i did. I think it will get better tomorrow once I’m back into my routine.Β I signed up with myfitnesspal today too and am anxious to see if it helps give results! After work today, I hopped on the stationary bike and pounded out 16.1km in 32 minutes. Awesome!

Day 26 – January 4, 2012

I felt better this am but boy this workout is NOT easy! I am however proud to say that I can bust out about 12-14 REAL pushups now!! When I started the shred, I could barely manage 1!Β  I rode Chelsea after work today to finish up the day.

Day 27 – January 5, 2012

Just another day. Instead of subbing with jump rope in the 3rd circuit, I did oblique twists – the one thingΒ I really had a hard time with in level 2 is now mastered! I’m still pumping and pushing through every day and can’t believe the challenge is almost done!Β  When I got home from work today, I hit the bike again for another 16.1km ride in 32 minutes. Feeling great!

Day 28 – January 6, 2012

In the home stretch now!! Nothing major to note about today’s workout. I feel like I’m starting to get a little extra adreneline now that I’m so close to the end!Β Β  I made sure to get out to the farm today for a solid 30 min ride on Chelsea for the extra daily burn. Go me! πŸ˜‰

Day 29 – January 7, 2012

I can’t beleive today was my 2nd last workout of the chalelnge! I worked out at the same time as Chris today and I really think that it made me push myself more! I busted through the shred and immediately after, hit the stationary bike for a speedy 5km ride in 10 min. 1 Day left!

Day 30 – January 8, 2012

And here we have it. The LAST day of the 30-Day Shred.Β  If I had to sum up my feelings through this entire workout in one word, that word would be PRIDE.Β  Works really can’t express how PROUD I am of myself for finishing the shred. I felt so strong for the whole 30 minutes and defintiely finished on a high note.

LevelΒ 3/FINAL Statistics

upper arm = (left) 10.3β€³Β  (right) 10.3β€³ – left down .3″ / right down .2

thigh = (left) 22.7β€³Β Β  (right) 22.7β€³ – left down .6β€³ / right down .3β€œ

high waist (as in skinniest part) = 27.5β€³ – down by 1.5β€³

low waist (right across the belly button) = 31.8β€³ – down by 1.7β€³

hips = 36.5β€³ – down by 1.1″

and, weight =Β 127.4

Total inches lost = 5.7″

Total weight lost = 5.6lbs! πŸ™‚

Overall thoughts on the 30-Day Shred?

I’m very glad that I decided to do this challenge.Β  Although I didn’t achieve incredible jaw-dropping results, I am so extremely happy with my results as they are SOLID.Β I ate proper portions of healthy food and dropped weight and inches at a slow and steady and HEALTHY pace.

Before & After Photos

I’m still not at my goal weight, so it’s still pretty hard to post these photos on the blog… but I promised that I’d do it, so I’m just sucking up my pride and going for it.Β  I am proud of my 5.6lb loss as I did it the ‘right’ way. I lost just over 1lb a week and I feel that I did it the smart and healthy way…vs. starving myself and working my ass off to lose more faster.

Anyway, enough babbling. Photo time.Β  I can really only notice slight differences, but I can tell you that I most definitely feel better and STRONGER!


and now I do not QUIT, but I CONTINUE….

Stay tuned! πŸ™‚

23 thoughts on “30-Day Shred Challenge: Level 3 Complete! + Before & After Photos

  1. Girl you look amazing! You can tell a big difference in the before/after pics. One someone of your size 5-6 pounds is a big difference. You go girl!!!

    • Thanks Donna! I’m glad others can see the differences (they’re only very slight to me).. i’m definitely pumped to get going there and get yet another Lulu top! maybe i’ll luck out and the one I want is in the “we made too much” section when it’s time to order again. πŸ˜› i lucked out and got this pink one for only $30 thanks to that section online.

  2. great job! i love jillian. I love the Shred but i need more variaty. I love doing the SHred when i have limited time to work out.
    but look at your results. that is awesome. congrats on finishing the whole challange! and cute lulu top!

    • thanks aneta!! i needed more variety too, hence why i made myself do the shred in the mornings, but after work did the fun stuff like riding my horse or cycling while watching a movie. πŸ™‚

    • thank you!! at first I was a bit bumped that I ‘only’ lost 5.6lbs, but then when I realized that it really was about 1lb a week I realized that I was donig this thing right! πŸ™‚

  3. Wow this is amazing! Your results are brilliant!
    You should be feeling pretty pleased with yourself, I would, you’ve done a great job πŸ™‚
    I have never actually done the 30 Day Shred for 30 days in a row, maybe now I will!
    Love the top by the way, you look fab!

    • thank you so much! πŸ™‚ and just to clarify, I actually did it in 35 days. I made sunday’s a mandatory rest day and it really helped to keep me going. I definitely reccomend you give it a try! πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Ripped In 30 – Week 1 Recap « My Pink Thumb

  5. Pingback: January 2012 Superlatives « My Pink Thumb

  6. Pingback: What Calorie Counting Has Taught Me « My Pink Thumb

  7. You look great!!! Well done you for sticking with it!!! You can really see the definition in your stomach starting to come through!! Probably the hardest area to lose fat from!!! I’m
    Just about to start the 30day shred, I’m excited but nervous that it will only be yet another workout DVD that promises results but ends up being a let down!!! But u have perked me up a little!! Keep up the great work!!!

    • Aww thank you so much for the nice comment!!! You have nothing to be nervous about. As long as you put in the work, you will see results! πŸ™‚ good luck!

  8. I’m at Level 3. Thank u for posting this. I actually felt guilty for skipping my workout today due to unavoidable events. Anyway, congratulations, u look great. I saw results in me too, that’s what’s making me keep going. πŸ˜‰

    • Hey! Thanks for the comment! You shouldn’t feel guilty about skipping a workout. As long as you get back to it the next day, that’s all that matters! πŸ™‚ Wishing you the best with the rest of the program!

  9. I’ve just found your blog after Googling Ripped in 30 days reviews. How tall are you? Your weight is similar to mine. I’ve been doing the 30 Day Shred on and off for over 2 years (when I can’t get to the gym etc) and I recently purchased Ripped in 30 Days. I thought as I’d gone from Level 3 of the 30 Day Shred, that starting on Level 1 of Ripped might be too easy! However, because they are totally different movements, I can already feel different muscles starting to ache (I did it 2 hours ago)!

    After reading your Blog I’m now going to do Ripped properly, i.e., 6 days a week! I’ve only got 3 lb weights, so I’m going to order some heavier ones.

    Thanks for sharing your experience. Clare. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

