Life / Workouts

The Calorie Experiment

To be totally honest with you, I never in a million years expected that I would be making a post on here about calorie counting, let alone being someone who would count calories in the first place!  I even contemplated not making this post all together, but I figured that if I’m posting about my workout challanges, I have to make this post as they both go hand in hand with each other.  I never saw myself as someone who would one day count calories, but shit happened, and it is the next logical step in my quest to get back to and then improve upon my pre-chronic hives-no workout-eating lots-state.

Now that my 30-Day Shred Challenge is coming to an end, and I’m not really seeing much coming off, so I started thinking that maybe I really am still eating too much?  That is when I had a conversation with Chris and decided that i would try my hand at calorie counting to see if I see any difference in the next month.  I googled my little heart out and ended up finding the site  MyFitnessPal.

I have learned in only the first few days that MyFitnessPal is not only an excellet place to log your food intakes and workouts, but it’s also a community with a great message board frequented by others who cheer eachother on!

Upon signing up to the site, I inputed my stats

  • starting weight: 130
  • goal weight: 120
  • height: 5’3
  • age: 28
  • current daily activity level: fairly sedentary as I sit at a desk for 8 hours a day
  • frequency of workouts: 30 min/day 6x a week (minimun)
  • how fast I’d like to lose: 1/2-1lb a week is healthiest so I chose that option

With the click of a button, I learned that in order to maintain my current weight, I should be consuming approximately 1610 calories a day.  In order to lose approximately 1/2-1lb a week, with 30 min workouts 6 days a week, I should be consuming 1200 calories a day.  Well, now that I’ve been tracking, I can honestly say that before I started paying attention, I was probably consuming well over 2000 calories per day. No wonder I gained!  As I mentioned before on here, I wasn’t eating bad food, but my portion sizes were just WAAAAY out to lunch.

Today is day 3 of tracking and so far so good.  I’ve been hitting just over the 1200 calorie mark each day (which is good since I plugged in an extra workout to balance it out) and I’ve also been pumping the water like nobody’s business. Well, in green tea form 😉 but that’s good too!  I have my full sport water bottle during my morning workout followed by another cup of water with breakfast. Then while at work, I’ve been pumping in approx. a whopping 8 cups of green tea! (I reuse the bag so it gets diluted towards the end of the day) At lunch I drink water or milk and then another cup of milk with supper. Boo ya!

I do find myself feeling a tiny bit hungry at certain points in the day – especially between my morning snack and lunch, but I figured that was bound to happen since I was eating too much before.  Don’t think I’m starving myself though! Here’s what I ate Tuesday for an example:

  • breakfast – 1C cooked steel cut oats with 1/4 of a banana, 1/4C blueberries, cinnamon, a handful of walnuts and a few splashes of milk
  • AM snack – 1/2 of a large apple + 10 almonds
  • lunch – whole wheat wrap filled with a 6-8oz salmon filet, 1/2 an avocado and homemade coleslaw
  • PM snack – about 1C of carrot sticks + 2Tbsp homemade hummus
  • supper – large spinach salad (approx. 2 C) w/ homemade balsamic vinaigrette (balsamic, dijon mustard, olive oil) and a bowl of Habitant smoked ham pea soup (approx. 1.5C)
  • dessert – 1 square of 75% dark chocolate

A great eating day in my opinion!

Do I plan on counting calories indefintiely?

Definitely not. This is just an experiment to try for a month (for the duration of my next challenge that you will hear about next week). If I find it’s helping, then I will probably continue until I reach my current goal.  I am hoping that once I reach my goal, I will be more aware of the portions I should be eating thus not needing to count as I go forward.

Wish me luck!

5 thoughts on “The Calorie Experiment

  1. I haven’t been very good about keeping track during the holidays, but MFP helped me lose over 20 pounds during 2011. It’s a great site!

  2. Pingback: What Calorie Counting Has Taught Me « My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

