Life

Happy New Year!

And just like that, we have made it to 2012!

I thought that I better take a brief break from our current ’24’-a-thon (going on hour 8 or 9 I think hehe) here to wish all of my family and friends a very happy new year.

The year 2011, was quite the roller coaster ride for me with having an absolutely incredible wedding in April, only to then come down with a mysterious autoimmune disorder in the form of chronic hives over the summer. I had set goals at the beginning of the year only to completely disregard them as I worked on getting through the days in one piece.  The past 6 months have been a rocky ride, thus making me very happy that a new leaf has been turned and a new year is here.

In the past year, I have learned that goals in terms of new years resolutions are all fine and dandy, but you also can’t get down on yourself if things are not accomplished.  Things do happen and if you set goals that are difficult to attain, sometimes you could just be destined to fail.

It is with this in mind that I have decided that I’m no longer going to be someone who makes New Year’s resolutions or even New Year’s goals so-to-speak.  I am a goal-oriented person in my normal every day life, so why make such a big deal about setting resolutions on January 1st?

Of course there are things that I would love to happen in 2012, but I plan to take each day as it comes and enjoy everyone and every thing around me.  Maybe I’ll luck out and will finally kick the chronic hives thing to the curb? Maybe not. Regardless, I have the support system that I need and I will get over this little hurdle in due time.  I will always say and believe that everything happens for a reason, so with that in mind, I will continue to push forward!

All that being said, I look forward to celebrating my eldest brother’s marriage in only a few short weeks, only to then celebrate mine and Chris’ first wedding anniversary in only a few short months! (wow time flies) .. maybe we’ll even get lucky enough to make our way back to sunny Jamaica this year too!  Let’s just see what happens.

🙂

Leave a Reply

