Life / Workouts

Two Weeks

Two weeks ago, I completely changed my outlook on workouts, how I lived my life, and my general well being.

Two weks ago I told myself ‘enough!’, and I acted on that changed outlook.

For two weeks now, I have been pushing my body harder that I really ever pushed before. I’ve been getting up earlier every morning and pushing myself even though I’d rather stay cozy and warm in bed.

Two weeks.

And I’m already feeling better for it.

It’s crazy to think that only two weeks ago, I still had the mentality that I’d never be able to be one of those people who can get up out bed early and workout before work.  I had always wanted to be able to do it to free up my evenings more, but always figured that I couldn’t do it without ever really trying.  That being said, I was REALLY setting the bar high for myself with this current workout plan.  I had to go from dragging my butt out of bed at 6:30am and taking my time to get ready for work to having the alarm go off at 5:42am and making sure I’m in the basement warming up by 6:05. Crazy right?!

Well, it’s been 2 weeks now and I’m still going strong.  I really think that I’m going to be able to make this early morning workout thing a habit and I am so happy for it.  It’s still December, but I’m finding myself so looking forward to spring when there’s enough day light for me to be able to run outdoors before work!  And come summer, that will be great! To be able to run before the stifling heat!

Now, I haven’t just done an overhaul in my workout schedule these past two weeks.  I feel that I’ve essentially done a complete overhaul of my life.  Two weeks ago I was still eating healthy (I’ve always been a healthy eater), but I was stuck in a trap of eating too much. It was hard for me to realize that I didn’t need to put as much food into my 5’3 frame as Chris needed to put into his hot manly body. Looking back, I kept denying the idea that I really should be eating much less than him and continued to make the servings on our plates almost equal.  I realize now that it was the wrong way to go – especially because I was physically unable to keep up my workout level.

With the new workout plan, came a new way of eating.

I haven’t really changed what I’m eating, but I am definitely more aware of what I am putting into my body and how much I am putting into my body.  I am still eating 5 times a day – breakfast, am snack, lunch, pm snack and supper – and have drastically increased my fluid intake.  I have a hard time drinking just water in the cold months, so I spend my day drinking low-caffeine green tea like it’s nobody’s business.  My meals are essentially the same food I’d normally eat, and I’ve been working on incorporating more protein into my snacks.  I usually go with a slice of cheese + 1/2 of an apple in the AM, and 10 almonds + a clementine in the PM. I’m still getting used to these smaller, but more realistic portions, but it’s going well!

In only two weeks, I’ve changed the way I eat, and have been working out 6 days a week.

In only two weeks, I went from feeling really crappy about myself to feeling really good!

(gah! so embarrassed about the filthy state of my mirror!)

I started to really feel different Saturday, so I marked the feeling by cutting and dying my hair (did it all by myself!). And just yesterday, I stood in front of the mirror and really thought that I’m starting to look different. My face is slimming down again and my arms are starting to look a little more toned! (You’ll get the before pics at the end of this challenge.)

Looks aside though, I am just FEELING better overall.  I’m in a better mood and just feel more energetic overall throughout the day.  I mean, who would have thought that I’d be able to bust out a workout at 6AM, work all day and then have fantastic rides on Chelsea in the evenings. And STILL have energy when I got home?

To say that I am proud of myself is an understatement. But, I really am proud of myself.

I never thought I’d be excited to get my butt kicked each morning but I really do get excited. Each and every day.  Two more weeks and challenge #1 is complete!

One thought on “Two Weeks

Leave a Reply

