Food/Recipes

Foodie Thursday: Sirloin Meat Loaf

This week, Foodie Friday is taking place a day early!  The reason? Tomorrow marks day 10 of the 30-Day Shred challenge, which means that I will be done with level 1 and need to post some stats! So are you ready for something juicy and delicious?

I know, I know… some of you may be thinking to yourself – meat loaf? really?  I used to have that reaction to meat loaf until one day last spring. I went to a family dinner at this restaurant called Port and ordered meat loaf! It wasn’t just any meat loaf though. This dish was made of fresh, juicy Kobe beef, which is pretty much the best beef you can get!  It was a little piece of heaven on my plate and got me interested in the old-school classic once again.

I’ve made several meat loaves for supper since that night, mainly using pork and they were fantastic.  I had actually planned to make a port meat loaf last night, but Chris had something else in mind when doing the shopping without me Saturday. This meat loaf wasn’t going to be made with pork, or even plain ‘ol ground beef. This was to be made with extra lean ground sirloin. …. YES there is a huge difference in flavour between plain ground beef and ground sirloin.

We don’t eat beef very often, so I was pretty pumped with his decision and let my brain do it’s thing as I randomly took add-ins out of the fridge and pantry.  The result? A juicy and flavourful meat loaf of which I wish we had leftover so I could eat it again tomorrow… but I think it turned into Chris’ lunch today. 😉

Sirloin Meat Loaf

What you need:

  • 1 lb extra lean ground sirloin
  • 1 large carrot; grated
  • 1/2 of a large onion; minced
  • 1 clove of garlic; minced
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1-3 splashes of Worcestershire
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of pepper
  • 2 Tbsp BBQ sauce + a little extra
  • 1/4 C bread crumbs

What you do:

– take out a loaf pan and pour in about 1/2 a tsp of olive oil; spread it all around the pan to avoid any sticking

– grab a big bowl and literally dump in all of the ingredients into the bowl

– get your hands dirty. You can mix with a spoon all you want, but using your hands allows for ultimate distribution of all of your ingredients. 😉

– now put your meat mixture into your loaf pan. Press it down until it’s all even.

– for a little extra flavour, top your meat loaf with a little extra BBQ sauce and just spread it over with a spoon.

– pop it in a 400 degree oven for about 1 hour. If you have a hot oven, I would check it around 50-55 minutes. Once cooked, enjoy with your favourite sides!!! You’re going to love it!

2 thoughts on “Foodie Thursday: Sirloin Meat Loaf

  1. Tried this meatloaf recipe for dinner last night. My hubby and my mother both loved it. It truly is delicious. However, in my mind, meatloaf HAS to have ketchup or tomato paste on the top. This is definitely a do-again at our house, but next time I will be adding ketchup or tomato paste on top.

Leave a Reply

