Food/Recipes

Glorious Pumpkin Muffins

It is no secret that I unfortunately put on some weight in my 3.5 months of inactivity and 2 stints on prednisone — if you’re wondering why I wasn’t working out and why I was on prednisone just do a search on hives and you’ll find my many posts complaining about my condition. (I’m still in the clear and have been gradually lowering my dose of antihistamines btw 😉 )  Anyway, with that being said, in the past month and a bit, I really started to take charge in the snacking department. When I was not feeling well, I got lazy and started eating way too many pre-packaged granola bars and there’s no doubt in my mind that these also added in the unhealthy weight gain.

One day in October I decided that I would say NO to pre-packaged granola bars as my go-to morning snack at work. It was at that moment when I decided that I would start making some sort of ‘healthified‘ baked good every Sunday to last us for the week.  I’ve been developing and making different versions of different recipes and today I share with you one of my favourites – oatmeal pumpkin muffins. I have made probably 4-5 different versions of this recipe and finally I have found the perfect combination. You can whip up a batch of these in about 5 min and after only 16 minutes of baking time, you are left with 12 individual snacks. Perfect.

I apologize for the less-than-stellar photographs over the next few months..a unfortunate downside to coming home every day in the dark. Please come fast spring!

Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins

What you need:

  • 1.5 C of whole wheat flour (I prefer the soft ww pastry flour)
  • 1 C rolled oats
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 C pureed pumpkin
  • 3/4 C milk
  • 1 Tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

What you do:

– mix all dry ingredients (flour, oats, salt, baking soda, baking powder, spices) in a large bowl and set aside

– mix all wet ingredients (pumpkin, egg, milk, oil, vanilla) + the brown sugar in a small bowl

– pour wet mixture into the dry and stir until it’s just combined

– now carefully stir in your chocolate chips and walnuts (raisins are also great in this recipe); stir until it’s just combined as you don’t want to over-work the batter

– spoon into a paper-filled muffin tin (if you don’t want to use papers, you could always use a silicone muffin pan to avoid any added oil.. or you’ll have to grease your pan before adding the batter, which will downgrade the health factor)

Bake at 350 degrees for 15-18 minutes

These are hands down a favourite in our house.  I especially love the inclusion of walnuts as they help give the muffins more staying power. On an average day, I will start out with a generous bowl of steel cut oats at 7am only to become hungry just after 10am.  At 10am, I will eat one of these muffins alongside my green tea and it carries me right until lunch time!

They freeze beautifully too! 😉

One thought on “Glorious Pumpkin Muffins

Leave a Reply

